Two World Records Fall at Second Michigan Water Carnival

Sept. 28, 2013

Complete Results | Photo Gallery  | Highlights video icon

Site: Ann Arbor, Mich. (Canham Natatorium)
Event: Michigan Water Carnival
Score: No Team Scoring
Next U-M Event: Saturday, Oct. 5 -- host Alumni/Intrasquad (Canham Natatorium), 9 a.m.

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- The University of Michigan men's and women's swimming and diving teams hosted the second annual Michigan Water Carnival on Saturday (Sept. 28) inside Canham Natatorium, complete with 13 unique swimming events, two world-record swims, a diving show put on by former head coach Dick Kimball and three-on-three water polo scrimmages. The men's and women's teams from Iowa and Oakland also participated on Saturday.

One of the highlights came at the end of the meet, as the Wolverines set unofficial Federation Internationale de Natation (FINA) world records (in short course meters) in the 200-yard mixed medley relay (1:43.75) and the 200-yard mixed freestyle relay (1:36.78). Sophomore Ali DeLoof (Grosse Pointe, Mich./Grosse Pointe South) and senior Angela Chokran (South Elgin, Ill./St. Charles North) were the two women on the 200 medley relay, while senior John Wojciechowski (Scottsdale, Ariz./Phoenix Brophy Prep) and junior Bruno Ortiz (Tokyo, Japan/St. Mary's International) represented the men. In the freestyle, senior Michael Wynalda (Wyoming, Mich./Grandville) and senior Kyle Whitaker (Chesterton, Ind./Chesterton) represented the men, while sophomore Zoe Mattingly (Zionsville, Ind./Zionsville) and DeLoof swam for the women. The previous unofficial records in both races were set on Thursday (Sept. 26) by Indiana at the IU Relay Rally in Bloomington, Ind. In order to be recognized as a world record, the land must be surveyed, the pool must be measured before and after each relay race, and all suits worn by the swimmers must be approved by FINA. All marks are unofficial until certified by FINA.

The men's and women's squads won seven individual events each. On the men's side, Whitaker kicked it off with a win in the 50-yard underwater with fins (17.21), while sophomore Anders Nielsen (Vanloese, Denmark) outlasted Wynalda in the 25-yard freestyle knockout. Ortiz took first in the 100-yard breaststroke with two pullouts (54.85), while senior Ryutaro Kamiya (Tokyo, Japan/St. Mary's International) won the 200-yard freestyle with fins (1:31.78). Other winners included Wojciechowski in the 100-yard freestyle kick with kickboard (55.17) and sophomore Dylan Bosch (Johannesburg, South Africa/Crawford College, Sandton) in the 200-yard individual medley in any order (1:49.24). Lastly, junior Richard Funk (Edmonton, Ontario/Strathcona) got the better of senior Kyle Duckitt (Johannesburg, South Africa/St. John's College) for the second consecutive year in the 50-yard breaststroke with flip turn, finishing at 24.65 (Duckitt was second at 25.31).

The women were led by DeLoof, who won the 100-yard freestyle kick with a kickboard (1:04.18) and the 50-yard backstroke from the blocks (24.97). Other individual winners included wins by junior Kayla Douglas (Livonia, Mich./Franklin) in the 50-yard underwater with fins (17.21), sophomore Marni Oldershaw (Oakville, Ontario/Iroquois Ridge) in the 100-yard breaststroke with two pullouts (1:04.48), senior Nikki Hubbard (Granger, Ind./Penn) in the 50-yard butterfly with flip turn (25.29), Chokran in the 50-yard breaststroke with flip turn (28.87) and sophomore Marie Georger (Erie, Pa./Mercyhurst Prep) in the 200-yard IM in any order (2:06.67).

While swimming and water polo were going on, the divers put on another great show, orchestrated by the 78-year old Kimball, a three-year letterwinner from 1957-59 and later the head diving coach from 1960-2002. During the first half of the show, Kimball, along with men's and women's divers, dove off the 10-meter platform and made use of props, including Kimball's trademark bicycle ride. The second half of the show saw divers line up all around the edge of the diving well and perform stationary dives. The final round saw more platform diving as well as synchronized diving off the three-meter board.

Both teams will be back in the water next Saturday (Oct. 5) for the annual alumni/intrasquad meet. The competition will begin at 9 a.m. at Canham Natatorium. The next official meet for both teams is on Oct. 11, as the men will be at the Dennis Stark Relays in South Bend, Ind., and the women will be at Minnesota.

Contact: Brad Rudner (734) 763-4423