Maize & Blue Rallies to Win Dennis Stark Relays
Anders Nielsen

Oct. 11, 2013

Complete Results

Site: South Bend, Ind. (Rolfs Aquatic Center)
Event: Dennis Stark Relays
U-M Team Finish: 1st Place of 5 Teams (190 points)
Next U-M Event: Saturday, Oct. 12 -- at Notre Dame, vs. Auburn (South Bend, Ind.), 11 a.m.

SOUTH BEND, Ind. -- In its second meet of the season, the University of Michigan men's swimming and diving team rallied to win the 49th annual Dennis Stark Relays on Friday (Oct. 11) inside the Rolfs Aquatic Center. In total, the Wolverines won seven events and set six meet records, beating second-place Auburn by four points (190-186). Auburn held the lead after four events, but Michigan won five of the last six relays and scored points in diving to overtake the Tigers.

The first record fell in the second race of the night, as the team of freshman Jason Chen (Pleasanton, Calif./Amador Valley), junior Richard Funk (Edmonton, Alberta/Strathcona), sophomore Dylan Bosch (Johannesburg, South Africa/Crawford College, Sandton) and sophomore Anders Nielsen (Vanloese, Denmark) won the 400-yard medley relay (3:15.11), beating second-place Auburn by nearly four seconds and shattering the old record by more than five seconds. Bosch and Nielsen were the last two swimmers in the water, swimming splits of 47.60 (butterfly) and 44.57 (freestyle), respectively. The same happened in the next race, as the 800-yard freestyle relay team of freshman Jack Mangan (Winnetka, Ill./New Trier), junior Justin Glanda (Rochester Hills, Mich./Cranbrook Kingswood), senior Connor Jaeger (Fair Haven, N.J./Rumson-Fair Haven) and senior Michael Wynalda (Wyoming, Mich./Grandville) took first with a new meet record of 6:35.25.

Auburn took the lead following a U-M disqualification in the 400-yard individual relay, but Michigan bounced back with wins in two of the next three races. The trio of Bosch, junior/sophomore Jeremy Raisky (Birmingham, Mich./Berkley) and sophomore Peter Brumm (Cornelius, N.C./Hough) took top honors at 2:26.61 in the 3x100 fly relay, establishing another meet record. Minutes later, sophomore Matt McNamara (Huntington Woods, Mich./Univ. of Detroit Jesuit), senior Kyle Duckitt (Johannesburg, South Africa/St. John's College) and Funk teamed to win the 300-yard breaststroke relay (2:47.23).

The Wolverines jumped back in front on the heels of a pair of U.S. National Team members, as Jaeger and fellow senior Sean Ryan (Hixson, Tenn./McCallie School) won the 1,000-yard freestyle relay (9:05.49). The lead was padded in the following the race, as the quartet of junior Bruno Ortiz (Tokyo, Japan/St. Mary's International), Funk, senior John Wojciechowski (Scottsdale, Ariz./Phoenix Brophy Prep) and freshman Vinny Tafuto (Hummelstown, Pa./Hershey) took first in the 200-yard medley relay (1:29.33). The swimming events were wrapped up with another win, as the U-M foursome of Glanda, Nielsen, Wynalda and Ortiz came from behind to out-touch Auburn by .06 seconds (2:58.25), thanks to a blazing split of 43.74 by Ortiz in the anchor spot.

U-M also took second in the 200-yard freestyle relay (1:21.53) and the 300-yard backstroke relay (2:28.58).

Over in the diving well, senior James Ross (Richmond, Va./Collegiate School) and junior Kevin Bain (Northville, Mich./Northville) teamed up for a relay of their own, combining scores to take third on the one-meter (540.50) and fourth on three-meter (205.50).

The Wolverines are back in the water tomorrow morning (Saturday, Oct. 12) for a double dual meet with Notre Dame and Auburn. Action will begin at 11 a.m. inside the Rolfs Aquatic Center.

Contact: Brad Rudner (734) 763-4423