U-M Gets Two NCAA 'A' Cuts at Michigan Open

Nov. 23, 2013

Complete Results | Photo Gallery 

Site: Ann Arbor, Mich. (Canham Natatorium)
Event: University of Michigan Open (Day 2 of 3)
Score: No team scoring
Next U-M Event: Sunday, Nov. 24 -- host University of Michigan Open (Canham Natatorium), 10 a.m./3 p.m.

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- The No. 1-ranked University of Michigan men's swimming and diving team automatically qualified for the NCAA Championships in two relays, highlighting the second day of action at the Michigan Open on Saturday (Nov. 23) at Canham Natatorium.

The 200-yard medley relay team of senior John Wojciechowski (Scottsdale, Ariz./Phoenix Brophy Prep), junior Richard Funk (Edmonton, Alberta/Strathcona), sophomore Peter Brumm (Cornelius, N.C./Hough) and junior Bruno Ortiz (Tokyo, Japan/St. Mary's International) posted the nation's fastest time in a victory (1:25.40), meeting the NCAA automatic-qualifying standard. Ortiz was particularly fast, splitting 19.09 for the final 50 yards of freestyle in the anchor spot.

The Wolverines also won the 800-yard freestyle with an NCAA 'A' cut time of 6:22.87. The quartet of sophomore Anders Nielsen (Vanloese, Denmark), senior Michael Wynalda (Wyoming, Mich./Grandville), senior Kyle Whitaker (Chesterton, Ind./Chesterton) and sophomore Dylan Bosch (Johannesburg, South Africa/Crawford College, Sandton) fell behind early after Louisville's Joao De Lucca, the reigning NCAA champion in the 200-yard freestyle, broke Michael Phelps' pool record (NCAA 'A' time of 1:33.34) in the leadoff leg. Michigan was behind three seconds after the first 200 yards, but Wynalda got that back in the second leg, as both Whitaker and Bosch had faster splits in the third and fourth legs, respectively, to give U-M the win and the automatic-qualifying time.

Whitaker and Bosch also took 1-2 in the 400-yard individual medley, the first time either of them had swum that race in a meet this season. Both times -- 3:50.51 for Whitaker and 3:51.81 for Bosch -- met the NCAA provisional-qualifying standard.

Former U-M swimmer Sean Fletcher (2010-13) won two races on the night, taking first in the 100-yard butterfly (46.64) and the 100-yard backstroke (47.55). No other Michigan swimmer won an event, though several had team-high finishes, including freshman Vinny Tafuto (Hummelstown, Pa./Hershey) in the 100-yard butterfly (fourth, 48.72), Bosch in the 200-yard freestyle (third, 1:38.38), Wojciechowski in the 100-yard breaststroke (fourth, 55.07) and Brumm in the 100-yard backstroke (ninth, 49.50).

The University of Michigan Open concludes tomorrow (Sunday, Nov. 24). Preliminaries begin at 10 a.m., with finals at 3 p.m.

Day 1 Results

Contact: Brad Rudner (734) 763-4423