Five More Race Wins Solidify U-M's Team Title at Hawkeye Invite
Miguel Ortiz

Dec. 4, 2011

Site: Iowa City, Iowa (Iowa Aquatic Center)
Event: Hawkeye Invitational (Day 3 of 3)
U-M Standing: 1st of 7 teams (967 points)
Next U-M Event: Saturday, Jan. 3 -- at Orange Bowl Invitational (Key Largo, Fla.), Noon

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- The No. 1-ranked University of Michigan swimming team collected five event titles on day three of the Hawkeye Invitational on Sunday (Dec. 4) to capture the 2011 Hawkeye Invitational team title with 967 points, outdistancing second-place Iowa (723 points) in the seven-team event held at the Iowa Aquatic Center.

The Wolverines earned race wins in the 1,650-yard freestyle, 100-yard freestyle, 200-yard breaststroke, 200-yard butterfly and 400-yard freestyle relay to close out the three-day competition with 15 event titles.

Michigan began the day with an outstanding performance in the 1,650-yard freestyle, as Wolverines claimed first, second and third in the race. Sophomore Connor Jaeger (Rumson, N.J./Rumson-Fair Haven) led the way with a pool-record and NCAA 'B' time of 14:55.70. Classmate Sean Ryan (Hixson, Tenn./McCallie School) also earned a NCAA consideration time with a 15:00.13 to place second, while junior Ryan Feeley (Rye, N.Y./Rye) closed out the top three with a 15:07.20 third-place finish.

The 200-yard backstroke followed, and was the lone event that the Wolverines did not win, as Denver's Kyle Milberg took the race with a pool-record 1:44.57 to take first. Michigan senior Jan Konarzewski (Warsaw, Poland/LO im Andersa) took second in the race with an NCAA 'B' time of 1:44.64, while junior Connor McCarroll (Portland, Ore./Jesuit) placed fourth with a finals time of 1:47.30 after clocking a 1:47.04 in the prelims.

After junior Miguel Ortiz (Tokyo, Japan/St. Mary's International) captured the 100-yard freestyle with a pool-record and NCAA 'B' time of 43.57, freshman Richard Funk (Edmonton, Alberta/Stratchcona) won the 200-yard breaststroke with another pool record and NCAA 'B' time of 1:58.06. Additionally, sophomore Kyle Duckitt (Johannesburg, South Africa/St. John's College) took third with a 2:01.30.

Individual events concluded with a top-three sweep in the 200-yard butterfly, as senior standout Dan Madwed (Stamford, Conn./Towson) won the race with a 1:43.88, the third-fastest time in the nation. The effort was also a pool record and NCAA 'B' time. He was followed by sophomore Kyle Whitaker (Chesterton, Ind./Chesterton), who marked a 1:46.16 for NCAA consideration and a second-place finish, while sophomore John Wojciechowski (Scottsdale, Ariz./Phoenix Brophy) closed out the top three with a 1:47.09

The day concluded with the 400-freestyle relay, as the 'A' foursome of Miguel Ortiz, Bruno Ortiz, Madwed, and junior Roman Willets (Whitehouse, Ohio/St. Francis deSales) teamed up to clock a pool-record and NCAA 'B' time of 2:54.38. Michigan's 'B' team of junior Evan Gregg (Blacksburg, Va./Blacksburg), sophomore Michael Wynalda (Wyoming, Mich./Grandville), Wojciechowski and Whitaker earned a 2:59.52 to place third.

The Wolverines return to the pool following an extended break on Jan. 3 in Key Largo, Fla., taking part in the Orange Bowl Classic. Action is slated to begin at noon.

Final Team Standings

 1. MICHIGAN            967
 2. Iowa                723
 3. Notre Dame          511
 4. Denver              436
 5. UW-Milwaukee        312
 6. UW-Green Bay        204
 7. Minnesota           177

Event Winners/U-M Finishers (Day 3)
Preliminary time in parentheses if faster than finals time

1,650-yard Freestyle
 1. Connor Jaeger, U-M        14:55.70%#
 2. Sean Ryan, U-M            15:00.13#
 3. Ryan Feeley, U-M          15:07.20
 5. Dane Vanderkaay, U-M      15:31.53
10. Andrew Novakoff, U-M      15:51.24
11. Zach Kelch, U-M           15:51.47
200-yard Backstroke
 1. Kyle Milberg, Denver       1:44.57%#
 2. Jan Konarzewski, U-M       1:44.64#
 4. Connor McCarroll, U-M      1:47.30 (1:47.04)
18. Andrew Novakoff, U-M       1:52.33
100-yard Freestyle
 1. Miguel Ortiz, U-M            43.57%#
 4. Bruno Ortiz, U-M             44.49
 5. Roman Willets, U-M           44.53
10. Michael Wynalda, U-M         45.02
18. Justin Glanda, U-M           45.87 (45.81)
22. Evan Gregg, U-M              46.37
39. Casey Sreenan, U-M           48.26
200-yard Breaststroke
 1. Richard Funk, U-M          1:58.06%#
 3. Kyle Duckitt, U-M          2:01.30
20. Casey Sreenan, U-M         2:07.33
25. David Moore, U-M           2:10.17
26. Adam Oxner, U-M            2:10.37
200-yard Butterfly
 1. Dan Madwed, U-M            1:43.88%#
 2. Kyle Whitaker, U-M         1:46.16#
 3. John Wojciechowski, U-M    1:47.09
 8. Connor Jaeger, U-M         1:53.05 (1:50.01)
12. Ryan Feeley, U-M           1:51.98 (1:51.29)
400-yard Freestyle Relay	
 1. MICHIGAN 'A'               2:54.38%#
   (Miguel Ortiz, Bruno Ortiz,
    Dan Madwed, Roman Willets)
 4. MICHIGAN 'B'               2:59.52
   (Evan Gregg, Michael Wynalda,
    John Wojciechowski, Kyle Whitaker)
 5. MICHIGAN 'C'               3:05.47
   (Jan Konarzewski, Justin Glanda,
    Dane Vanderkaay, Ryan Feeley)
# NCAA consideration time
% Pool Record
+ did not swim in final

• Previous Results: Day Two | Day One


• The Iowa Aquatic Center is in its second year of existence after opening last year

• The Michigan divers did not participate in the three-day meet, opting instead to partake in the Miami (Ohio) Invitational in Oxford Thursday through Saturday (Dec. 1-3).