Bosch Swims to Fly Record; Wolverines Win Winter Nationals
Dylan Bosh

Dec. 7, 2013


Site: Knoxville, Tenn. (Allan Jones Aquatic Center)
Event: AT&T Winter National Championships (Day 3 of 3)
U-M Team Finish: 1st Place of 24 Teams (318 points)
Next U-M Event: Friday, Jan. 3 -- at Orange Bowl Classic (Key Largo, Fla.), 2 p.m.

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. -- Sophomore Dylan Bosch (Johannesburg, South Africa/Crawford College, Sandton) became the second University of Michigan men's swimmer in as many nights to set records at AT&T Winter Nationals, re-setting his Big Ten and U-M record in the 200-yard butterfly (1:41.01) on Saturday (Dec. 7) inside the Allan Jones Aquatic Center. As a team, Michigan took first at the three-day meet (318 points), ahead of second-place SwimMAC Carolina (262) and college contenders California (214.5) and Louisville (137).

Bosch won the race by more than a second and a half and surpassed the NCAA 'A' standard by more than two seconds. He shaved 1.94 seconds off his time from preliminaries to finals (1:42.95 to 1:41.01) and now holds the nation's fastest time so far this season. He previously held both Big Ten and program records at 1:41.18, set earlier this year at the Big Ten Championships. Last night, senior Michael Wynalda (Wyoming, Mich./Grandville) set the same records in the 200-yard freestyle (1:32.91).

Bosch was not the only champion on Saturday, however, as senior Connor Jaeger (Fair Haven, N.J./Rumson-Fair Haven) won the 1,650-yard freestyle (14:39.02), bettering the NCAA 'A' cut by more than eight seconds. Sophomore Anders Nielsen (Vanloese, Denmark) was right behind in third place (14:47.88), missing the 'A' standard by seven-tenths of a second. He was one of three others to get NCAA 'B' times along with freshman Cameron Stitt (Portland, Ore./Sunset) in 15th (15:21.60) and senior Sean Ryan (Hixson, Tenn./McCallie School) in 17th (15:24.34).

Two others joined Bosch in the final of the 200-yard butterfly. Senior Kyle Whitaker (Chesterton, Ind./Chesterton) was fifth (1:43.81) and senior John Wojciechowski (Scottsdale, Ariz./Phoenix Brophy Prep) was seventh (1:45.70). Both were NCAA 'B' cuts.

That depth was also evident in the 200-yard breaststroke, as four men finished in the top 14. Junior Richard Funk (Edmonton, Alberta/Strathcona) was the team's top swimmer in the event, taking fourth (1:55.01). Three others scored points in the consolation final, including senior Kyle Duckitt (Johannesburg, South Africa/St. John's College) in 10th (1:58.24), freshman Chris Klein (Ann Arbor, Mich./Pioneer) in 12th (1:58.79) and sophomore Matt McNamara (Huntington Woods, Mich./Univ. of Detroit Jesuit) in 14th (1:59.13). All four times met the NCAA 'B' standard.

Senior Ryutaro Kamiya (Tokyo, Japan/St. Mary's International) was the team's top finisher in the 200-yard backstroke, touching the wall in 12th (1:43.80). Two others were in the consolation final of the 100-yard freestyle, including junior Bruno Ortiz (Tokyo, Japan/St. Mary's International) and Wynalda, who were 13th (43.43) and 15th (43.77), respectively.

The Wolverines closed out the meet with another NCAA 'A' cut, as the top team's top quartet of sophomore Peter Brumm (Cornelius, N.C./Hough), Wynalda, Whitaker and junior Justin Glanda (Rochester Hills, Mich./Cranbrook Kingswood) finished fourth in the 400-yard freestyle relay (2:52.88).

The Wolverines are next in action after the New Year, competing at a pair of meets on Jan. 3 that serve as the conclusion of the team's annual training trip. The divers will be at the Mike Pepe Invitational in Fort Lauderdale, Fla. (noon), while the swimmers will be at the Orange Bowl Classic in Key Largo, Fla. (2 p.m.).

Final Team Standings (Top 10)

 1. MICHIGAN                        318
 2. SWimMAC Carolina                262
 3. California                      214.5
 4. Louisville                      137
 5. Nation's Capital Swim Club      117
 6. Indiana                         72
 7. Tucson Ford Dealers Aquatics    68
 8. Club Wolverine                  62
 9. Pittsburgh                      60
10. California Aquatics             40

Event Winners/U-M Finishers (Day 3)
Preliminaries times in parenthesis if faster than finals

1,650-yard Freestyle
 1. Connor Jaeger, U-M                         14:39.02*
 3. Anders Nielsen, U-M                        14:47.88#
15. Cameron Stitt, U-M                         15:21.60#
17. Sean Ryan, U-M                             15:24.34#
200-yard Backstroke
 1. Arkady Vyatchanin, New York Athletic Club   1:37.87
12. Ryutaro Kamiya, U-M                         1:44.57# (1:43.80#)
30. Will Raynor, U-M                            1:48.91
31. Jason Chen, U-M                             1:48.99
35. Jack Mangan, U-M                            1:49.88
100-yard Freestyle
 1. Nathan Adrian, California Aquatics            41.39
13. Bruno Ortiz, U-M                              43.43# (43.26#)
15. Michael Wynalda, U-M                          43.77# (43.57#)
34. Ryutaro Kamiya, U-M                           44.72
43. Hassaan Abdel Khalik, U-M                     44.96
44. Justin Glanda, U-M                            44.97
61. Ian Richardson, U-M                           45.87
64. Jack Mangan, U-M                              46.17
200-yard Breaststroke
 1. Brad Craig, Tennessee Aquatics              1:52.99
 4. Richard Funk, U-M                           1:55.01#
10. Kyle Duckitt, U-M                           1:58.24#
12. Chris Klein, U-M                            1:58.79#
14. Matt McNamara, U-M                          1:59.13#
23. Paul Corbae, U-M                            2:00.48 (2:00.11)
200-yard Butterfly
 1. Dylan Bosch, U-M                            1:41.01*$B
 5. Kyle Whitaker, U-M                          1:43.81#
 7. John Wojciechowski, U-M                     1:45.70#
33. Daniel Miller, U-M                          1:50.73
--  Peter Brumm, U-M                                 DQ
400-yard Freestyle Relay
 1. California                                  2:51.16*@
   (Tyler Messerschmidt, Ryan Murphy,
    Fabio Gimondi, Seth Stubblefield)
 4. Michigan 'B'                                2:52.88*
   (Peter Brumm, Michael Wynalda,
    Kyle Whitaker, Justin Glanda)
 8. Michigan 'A'                                2:54.93#
   (Anders Nielsen, Dylan Bosch,
    Connor Jaeger, Bruno Ortiz)
* NCAA automatic-qualifying time
# NCAA consideration time
@ Meet record
$ University of Michigan record
A American record
B Big Ten Conference record

• Previous Results: Day 2 | Day 1

Contact: Brad Rudner (734) 763-4423