This Week in Michigan Men's Swimming & Diving #7

Jan. 14, 2014

• Podcast: Thursday Morning Taper audio

Fri-Sat., Jan. 17-18
-- at SMU Invitational (Dallas, Texas), 7:30 p.m. CST
Live Results

• Statistics: Top Times PDF | Diving Bests
• Social Media: Facebook | Twitter

Having recently concluded a stretch of three meets in eight days, nine members of the No. 1-ranked University of Michigan men's swimming and diving team will be in action this weekend at the SMU Classic in Dallas, Texas. The meet will be held at 7:30 p.m. CST on Friday (Jan. 17) and Saturday (Jan. 18) inside Perkins Natatorium.

Each of the six teams at the SMU Classic will send eight swimmers and one diver. Joining Michigan and SMU at the meet will be No. 3 Florida, No. 6 USC, No. 8 Louisville and Purdue. Representing the Wolverines will be seniors Connor Jaeger, Kyle Whitaker, John Wojciechowski and Michael Wynalda, juniors Richard Funk and Bruno Ortiz and sophomores Dylan Bosch, Peter Brumm and Timothy Faerber. Bosch, Funk, Ortiz, Whitaker and Wynalda all swam at last year's SMU Classic.

The Perkins Natatorium at SMU is a six-lane pool. Each competitor can swim in a maximum of three events per day but one must be a relay. There are two heats for each event, and each team must have one competitor in each heat.

Tickets for the 2014 Big Ten Men's Swimming & Diving Championships will go on sale on Monday, Jan. 20. To purchase, go to or call (866) 296-MTIX.

Friday, Jan. 17
400-yard Medley Relay
400-yard Individual Medley
200-yard Freestyle
50-yard Freestyle
One-meter Diving
100-yard Butterfly
100-yard Backstroke
100-yard Breaststroke
800-yard Freestyle Relay

Saturday, Jan. 18
200-yard Medley Relay
500-yard Freestyle
200-yard Breaststroke
200-yard Backstroke
Three-meter Diving
100-yard Freestyle
200-yard Butterfly
200-yard Individual Medley
200-yard Freestyle Relay


• Michigan is swimming at the SMU Classic for the sixth consecutive season. The Wolverines finished second last season, falling short of first place by three points to USC. Prior to last season, U-M had won the previous five SMU Classic titles. [ 2013 Recap ]

• Sophomore Dylan Bosch was named Big Ten Men's Swimmer of the Week on Tuesday (Jan. 14). He won five events in last weekend's meets at Purdue and Northwestern, including three individual race wins. [ Release ]

• In U-M's last three competitions -- the Orange Bowl Classic (Jan. 3), at Purdue (Jan. 10) and at Northwestern (Jan. 11) -- it has won 34 of 44 events (77 percent).

• Michigan continues to be ranked No. 1 in the CSCAA D-I rankings, last released on Dec. 12. The rankings are released every two weeks, alternating between men and women. [ Rankings: CSCAA ]

• Through the first half of the season, four divers have achieved NCAA Zone Diving Championships qualifying scores, led by sophomore Timothy Faerber, who has two (one-meter, three-meter). The divers spent the winter break training trip in Coral Springs, Fla. [ Diving Bests ]

Dylan Bosch (200-yard butterfly) and Connor Jaeger (500-yard freestyle) enter this weekend's meets having not been defeated in either of those events all season. Jaeger also won the 1,650-yard freestyle at the AT&T Winter Nationals back on Dec. 7 but likely will not swim that event again until the Big Ten Championships.


Listed below are the swimmers that have times that rank in the top 10 at both the national and conference level. Michigan swimmers lead the Big Ten in 10 events, including four from sophomore Dylan Bosch.

Name Event Time NCAA Big Ten
Bruno Ortiz 50-yard Freestyle 19.53 T-9th 1st
Michael Wynalda 200-yard Freestyle 1:32.91 2nd 1st
Connor Jaeger 500-yard Freestyle 4:14.05 2nd 1st
  1,650-yard Freestyle 14:39.02 1st 1st
  400-yard IM 3:45.50 10th 2nd
Anders Nielsen 1,650-yard Freestyle 14:47.88 2nd 2nd
Richard Funk 100-yard Breaststroke 52.89 4th 1st
  200-yard Breaststroke 1:55.01 6th 1st
Dylan Bosch 100-yard Butterfly 46.57 9th 1st
  200-yard Butterfly 1:41.01 1st 1st
  200-yard IM 1:43.47 3rd 1st
  400-yard IM 3:45.31 7th 1st
Kyle Whitaker 200-yard Butterfly 1:43.81 2nd 2nd


Through four meets, the following U-M swimmers and divers have automatically or provisionally qualified for the 2014 NCAA Championships, set to be held March 27-29 at the Lee and Joe Jamail Texas Swimming Center. In total, in individual events, U-M has achieved eight NCAA 'A' times, 51 NCAA 'B' times and six NCAA Zone Diving qualifying scores. In addition, four relay teams -- 400-yard freestyle relay, 800-yard freestyle relay, 200-yard medley relay and 400-yard medley relay -- have also automatically qualified to the NCAA Championships:

Hassaan Abdel Khalik
200-yard freestyle (1:36.58#)
500-yard freestyle (4:22.38#)

Kevin Bain
Three-meter diving (334.20^)

Dylan Bosch
200-yard freestyle (1:37.88#)
500-yard freestyle (4:22.55#)
100-yard butterfly (46.57#)
200-yard butterfly (1:41.01*)
200-yard IM (1:43.47#)
400-yard IM (3:45.31#)
400-yard medley relay (3:08.30*)

Peter Brumm
100-yard freestyle (43.71#)
200-yard freestyle (1:36.59#)
100-yard butterfly (47.61#)
200-yard IM (1:46.84#)
400-yard freestyle relay (2:52.88*)
200-yard medley relay (1:25.40*)

Kyle Duckitt
100-yard breaststroke (54.86#)
200-yard breaststroke (1:58.24#)

Timothy Faerber
One-meter diving (312.40^)
Three-meter diving (336.90^)

Richard Funk
100-yard breaststroke (52.89#)
200-yard breaststroke (1:555.01#)
200-yard IM (1:48.42#)
200-yard medley relay (1:25.40*)
400-yard medley relay (3:08.30*)

Justin Glanda
200-yard freestyle (1:36.10#)
500-yard freestyle (4:23.41#)
400-yard freestyle relay (2:52.88*)
800-yard freestyle relay (6:21.70*)

Connor Jaeger
200-yard freestyle (1:35.32#)
500-yard freestyle (4:14.05*)
1,650-yard freestyle (14:39.02*)
400-yard IM (3:45.50#)
800-yard freestyle relay (6:21.70*)

Ryutaro Kamiya
500-yard freestyle (4:23.26#)
200-yard backstroke (1:43.80#)
400-yard IM (3:51.81#)

Chris Klein
100-yard breaststroke (54.67#)
200-yard breaststroke (1:58.89#)

Jack Mangan
200-yard freestyle (1:37.98#)
800-yard freestyle relay (6:21.70*)

Matt McNamara
100-yard breaststroke (54.48#)
200-yard breaststroke (1:59.13#)

Anders Nielsen
100-yard freestyle (44.29#)
200-yard freestyle (1:35.49#)
500-yard freestyle (4:15.49#)
1,650-yard freestyle (14.47.88#)

Bruno Ortiz
50-yard freestyle (19.53#)
100-yard freestyle (43.26#)
100-yard breaststroke (54.36#)
100-yard butterfly (47.86#)
200-yard medley relay (1:25.40*)
400-yard medley relay (3:08.30*)

Jeremy Raisky
100-yard butterfly (48.08#)

Nate Rietberg
One-meter diving (315.95^)

James Ross
One-meter diving (337.05^)
Three-meter diving (324.10^)

Sean Ryan
1,650-yard freestyle (15:24.34#)

Cameron Stitt
1,650-yard freestyle (15:21.60#)

Kyle Whitaker
200-yard freestyle (1:36.41#)
200-yard backstroke (1:46.09#)
200-yard butterfly (1:43.81#)
200-yard IM (1:44.47#)
400-yard IM (3:47.56#)
400-yard freestyle relay (2:52.88*)

John Wojciechowski
100-yard backstroke (47.53#)
100-yard butterfly (46.72#)
200-yard butterfly (1:45.70#)
100-yard breaststroke (55.07#)
200-yard IM (1:48.22#)
200-yard medley relay (1:25.40*)
400-yard medley relay (3:08.30*)

Michael Wynalda
100-yard freestyle (43.57#)
200-yard freestyle (1:32.91*)
500-yard freestyle (4:19.41#)
400-yard freestyle relay (2:52.88*)
800-yard freestyle relay (6:21.70*)

* NCAA automatic qualifying standard
# NCAA provisional qualifying standard
^ NCAA Zone Diving Championships qualifying score

Wrapping up a stretch of three meets in eight days, Michigan defeated Purdue (176-124) and Northwestern (177-115) on the road last weekend. [ Recaps: Purdue | Northwestern ]

Saturday, Feb. 1 -- at Ohio State (Columbus, Ohio), 11 a.m.

Thursday Morning Taper (Podcast) -- Every Thursday

Contact: Brad Rudner (