Four Swimmers to Head to OSU for Last-Ditch Qualifier
Paul Corbae

March 5, 2013

Live Results

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- Four members of the No. 3-ranked University of Michigan men's swimming and diving team will compete at the Ohio State Last Ditch Qualifier on Sunday (March 10, noon) in Columbus, Ohio. Seniors Evan Gregg (Blacksburg, Va./Blacksburg) and Roman Willets (Whitehouse, Ohio/St. Francis de Sales) and freshmen Paul Corbae (Madison, Wis./Westlake) and Reid Elliott (Austin, Texas/Lake Travis) will swim at the meet, which begins at noon inside the McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion.

The meet serves as the final chance for swimmers to improve their season-best times in order to reach qualifying standards for the NCAA Championships, to be held March 28-30 in Indianapolis, Ind. The meet will be run using the standard NCAA Championship three-day format, with a preliminaries session and event finals session. There will be a minimum of 15 minutes between the two sessions. No team score will be kept. Time trials will run at the conclusion of the meet.

Teams can declare no more than 18 swimmers for consideration for selections. The official psych sheet for the men's championships will be posted next Wednesday (March 13). The following Michigan student-athletes have met the NCAA 'A' standard in individual events:

Dylan Bosch (200-yard butterfly, 200-yard IM, 400-yard IM)
Sean Fletcher (100-yard butterfly)
Richard Funk (100-yard breaststroke, 200-yard breaststroke)
Connor Jaeger (500-yard freestyle, 1,650-yard freestyle)
Anders Lie Nielsen (200-yard freestyle, 500-yard freestyle)
Bruno Ortiz (50-yard freestyle, 100-yard breaststroke)
Kyle Whitaker (200-yard IM, 400-yard IM)

All seven of those men are on at least one of Michigan's five relay teams (all five have NCAA 'A' cuts):

• 200-yard Freestyle Relay -- Zachary Turk, Miguel Ortiz, Sean Fletcher, Bruno Ortiz
• 400-yard Freestyle Relay -- Bruno Ortiz, Zachary Turk, Sean Fletcher, Miguel Ortiz
• 800-yard Freestyle Relay -- Anders Lie Nielsen, Michael Wynalda, Connor Jaeger, Kyle Whitaker
• 200-yard Medley Relay -- Miguel Ortiz, Bruno Ortiz, Sean Fletcher, Zachary Turk
• 400-yard Medley Relay -- Miguel Ortiz, Richard Funk, Sean Fletcher, Bruno Ortiz

The Michigan divers will be in action next, competing at the NCAA Zone C Diving Regionals, to be held March 14-16 in West Lafayette, Ind. The event will determine which divers from the region go to the NCAA Championships.

Contact: Brad Rudner (734) 763-4423