Weekly #14: Wolverines Set for NCAA Championships in Washington

March 19, 2012

Mike Bottom Interview | Event Notes

Thu-Sat., March 22-24, Noon/7 p.m. PDT -- at NCAA Championships (Federal Way, Wash.)
Live Results | Meet Information | Ticket Information | ESPN3.com (Friday and Saturday)
TV: ESPNU (tape delay, April 1, at 12:30 p.m.)

The No. 4-ranked University of Michigan men's swimming and diving team will send 12 representatives and two alternates to the 2012 NCAA Championships, running Thursday through Saturday (March 22-24) at Weyerhaeuser King County Aquatic Center in Federal Way, Wash. Each day will begin with preliminaries at noon PDT to set up finals, which begin at 7 p.m. PDT each night. Michigan placed ninth last year, and took seventh in each of the previous two seasons.

Live video of the second and third day of competition (Fri-Sat., March 23-24) will air live on ESPN3.com. A recap of the entire event will air on ESPNU on April 1 at 12:30 p.m.

All-session tickets can be purchased online at Ticketmaster.com. Ticket prices for the championships are $80 for an all-session adult ticket and all seats are general admission.


Thursday, March 22
200-yard Freestyle Relay
500-yard Freestyle
200-yard Individual Medley
50-yard Freestyle
One-meter Diving
400-yard Medley Relay
Friday, March 23
200-yard Medley Relay
400-yard Individual Medley
100-yard Butterfly
200-yard Freestyle
100-yard Breaststroke
100-yard Backstroke
Three-meter Diving
800-yard Freestyle Relay
Saturday, March 24
1,650-yard Freestyle
200-yard Backstroke
100-yard Freestyle
200-yard Breaststroke
200-yard Butterfly
Platform Diving
400-yard Freestyle Relay

Competitors for the NCAA Championships -- The Wolverines will send 12 swimmers, along with two alternates, to the NCAA Championships.

The following swimmers qualified for the national championships:

Ryan Feeley
500 Freestyle (4:15.12)
1,650 Freestyle (14:45.23)

Sean Fletcher
400 Medley relay (3:07.32)
100 Butterfly (46.10)

Richard Funk
400 Medley relay (3:07.32)
200 Medley relay (1:25.58)
100 Breaststroke (53.15)

Evan Gregg
200 Medley relay (1:25.58)

Connor Jaeger
500 Freestyle (4:15.65)
200 Freestyle (1:35.30)
800 Freestyle relay (6:16.26)
1,650 Freestyle (14:43.64)

Dan Madwed
200 IM (1:44.47)
400 Medley relay (3:07.32)
100 Butterfly (46.02)
800 Freestyle relay (6:16.26)
200 Butterfly (1:42.67)

Bruno Ortiz
100 Breaststroke (52.72)

Miguel Ortiz
400 Medley relay (3:07.32)
200 Medley relay (1:25.58)
100 Backstroke (46.33)

Sean Ryan
500 Freestyle (4:16.47)
1,650 Freestyle (14:45.08)

Kyle Whitaker
200 IM (1:43.40)
400 IM (3:41.04)
800 Freestyle relay (6:16.26)
200 Butterfly (1:43.25)

John Wojciechowski
200 Medley relay (1:25.58)
100 Butterfly (46.56)
200 Butterfly (1:43.93)

Michael Wynalda
200 Freestyle (1:34.08)
800 Freestyle relay (6:16.26)

In addition, U-M will take senior co-captain Dane Vanderkaay (Rochester, Mich./Adams) as well as junior Roman Willets (Whitehouse, Ohio/St. Francis deSales) as relay alternates.

U-M at the NCAA Championships -- The Wolverines have racked up 160 NCAA titles while winning 11 team championships. U-M last won a team championship in 1995, making Michigan the only school to win NCAA Championships under three different coaches -- Matt Mann (6), Gus Stager (4) and Jon Urbanchek (1). Michigan has had a swimmer or diver win a national title at 11 of the last 13 NCAA Championships.

Last Time at the NCAA Championships -- Michigan earned its 11th consecutive top-10 finish when it placed ninth at the 2011 NCAA Championships. Michigan's highest finish under head coach Mike Bottom was seventh place at the 2008 and 2009 championships.

Michigan returns six All-Americans in Ryan Feeley, Sean Fletcher, Sean Ryan, Dan Madwed, Miguel Ortiz, and Kyle Whitaker. Whitaker earned a runner-up finish in the 400-yard individual medley, while Madwed took third in the 100-yard butterfly to highlight U-M's individual finishers at the championships. In addition, U-M's 400-yard freestyle relay earned All-America status for the second time under Bottom with a seventh-place finish after taking fifth at the 2010 championships. Three of the four members of the relay return in Madwed, Fletcher and Ortiz.

400 Individual Michigan -- A Wolverine has won four of the last five 400-yard individual medley national championships. Tyler Clary won in 2008, 2009 and 2010, successfully defending a pair of titles won by Alex Vanderkaay (2005-08). Sophomore Kyle Whitaker enters the championship as No. 2 seed at the NCAA Championships after winning the Big Ten crown in the event for the second straight year. Of U-M's eight All-Americans last season, six return, as Hassaan Abdel Khalik (800-yard freestyle relay) is taking an Olympic redshirt, while Neal Kennedy (400-yard freestyle relay) graduated.

Gunning for that No. 1 Spot
U-M enters NCAAs seeking its highest finish under Bottom, who has led the squad to a pair of seventh-place finishes in his first two years at U-M, along with a ninth-place finish last year. The 14 swimmers heading to the championship mark the highest amount of participants during the Mike Bottom era.


Michigan Big Ten Champions
Dan Madwed (4): 800-yard freestyle relay, 400-yard medley relay, 100-yard butterfly, 200-yard butterfly
Miguel Ortiz (2): 400-yard medley relay, 200-yard medley relay
Michael Wynalda (2): 800-yard freestyle relay, 200-yard freestyle
Connor Jaeger (2): 1,650-yard freestyle, 800-yard freestyle relay
Kyle Whitaker (3): 800-yard freestyle relay, 200-yard individual medley, 400-yard individual medley
Richard Funk (2): 400-yard medley relay, 200-yard medley relay
John Wojciechowski: 200-yard medley relay
Ryan Feeley: 500-yard freestyle
Bruno Ortiz: 800-yard freestyle relay
Evan Gregg: 200-yard medley relay
Sean Fletcher: 400-yard medley relay

Big Ten Award Winners
Coach of the Year: Mike Bottom
Swimmer of the Championships: Dan Madwed

2012 Michigan All-Big Ten Selections
First Team: Miguel Ortiz, Richard Funk, John Wojciechowski, Evan Gregg, Dan Madwed, Michael Wynalda, Connor Jaeger, Kyle Whitaker, Sean Fletcher, Ryan Feeley
Second Team: Bruno Ortiz, Roman Willets, Sean Ryan.

Contact: Scott Kemps (734) 763-4423