Auböck Named 2017 Big Ten Men's Swimmer of the Year
Felix Auböck
March 28, 2017

ROSEMONT, Ill. -- Freshman Felix Auböck of the University of Michigan men's swimming and diving team was named 2017 Big Ten Men's Swimmer of the Year on Tuesday (March 28) following a vote from the conference's head coaches.

Auböck recorded three top-10 individual finishes at last week's NCAA Championships in Indianapolis, including a runner-up finish in the 1,650-yard freestyle. His time of 14:22.88 is the second fastest in NCAA history and broke the previously held Big Ten and University of Michigan record by nearly four seconds. Auböck additionally took third in the 500-yard freestyle (4:08.95, the third-fastest time in school history) and 10th in the 200-yard freestyle (1:33.21). He set the school record in the latter in leading off the 800-yard freestyle relay last Wednesday (1:32.02).

Auböck, also the Big Ten Freshman of the Year, was a two-time Big Ten champion at the conference meet, winning the 500-yard freestyle and 1,650-yard freestyle. He also finished third in the 200-yard freestyle.

He is the 15th swimmer in program history to win the award, joining Dylan Bosch (2015), Connor Jaeger (2013-14), Dan Madwed (2012), Tyler Clary (2009-10), Alex Vanderkaay (2008), Peter Vanderkaay (2004-06), Dan Ketchum (2002), Chris Thompson (1999, 2001), Tom Malchow (1998), John Piersma (1997), Derya Buyukuncu (1996), Tom Dolan (1994-95), Marcel Wouda (1993) and Brent Lang (1988).

He joins Tom Dolan (1994) as the only swimmers in program history to win Big Ten Swimmer of the Year and Big Ten Freshman of the Year honors in the same season.

Communications Contact: Brad Rudner