Jaeger Repeats as DAC Michigan Male College Athlete of the Year
Connor Jaeger

April 28, 2014

DETROIT, Mich. -- For the second straight year, the Detroit Athletic Club has chosen University of Michigan men's swimmer Connor Jaeger (Fair Haven, N.J/Rumson-Fair Haven) as its Michigan Male College Athlete of the Year, the organization announced Monday (April 28). Jaeger will officially be given the award on Monday, May 12, at the 18th annual DAC Athletic Awards in downtown Detroit.

Jaeger is the first repeat winner of the award and the third male recipient from the University of Michigan, joining former swimmer Davis Tarwater (2006) and former wrestler Kellen Russell (2012). The award started in 1996 and honors both athletic and academic achievement. In 2006, the awards were expanded to recognize outstanding college athletes with the Michigan College Athlete of the Year award.

In his final season, Jaeger successfully defended his national title in the 1,650-yard freestyle, closing his four-year career with three individual national crowns. He was a three-time NCAA All-American and NCAA All-America Honorable Mention at the 2014 NCAA Championships in March, where he captained the Wolverines to a fourth-place finish as a team.

Jaeger also was a three-time 2014 Big Ten champion in his home pool of Canham Natatorium, helping his team to its fourth consecutive championship. For his efforts, he was named Big Ten Men's Swimmer of the Year for the second consecutive season.

In his career, he was a 10-time NCAA All-American and nine-time Big Ten champion. Outside the water, Jaeger was an Academic All-Big Ten selection for the third time and received the U-M Athletic Academic Achievement Award.

Jaeger will graduate this fall with a degree in mechanical engineering. He plans on staying in Ann Arbor to train with the Club Wolverine postgraduate group in preparation for the 2016 Olympics in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

Contact: Brad Rudner