Fourteen Individuals Tabbed CSCAA All-Americans

July 16, 2014

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- Fourteen members of the University of Michigan men's swimming and diving team earned Scholar All-America honors from the College Swimming Coaches Association of America (CSCAA), including six on the first team.

The first-team honorees are Hassaan Abdel Khalik (Mississauga, Ontario/Silverthorn Collegiate), Richard Funk (Edmonton, Alberta/Strathcona), Justin Glanda (Rochester Hills, Mich./Cranbrook Kingswood), Ryutaro Kamiya (Tokyo, Japan/St. Mary's International), Sean Ryan (Hixson, Tenn./McCallie School) and John Wojciechowski (Scottsdale, Ariz./Phoenix Brophy Prep). Michigan tied Florida for the most Scholar All-America first teamers in the country with six.

The Scholar All-America award is presented to college and university swimmers and divers who have achieved a cumulative, or term grade point average of 3.5 or higher for the academic term coinciding with their respective swimming and diving championships and have qualified for and competed at the NCAA Championships.

The Honorable Mention Scholar All-America Award is presented to college and university swimmers and divers who have achieved a grade point average of 3.5 or higher for the semester, or cumulative average, and have achieved a "B" time standard but did not qualify or compete in their respective national championship. Divers qualify by competing at their respective championship qualifying meets, zones or NCAA preliminary rounds.

Eight Wolverines received a Scholar All-America honorable mention: Kevin Bain (Northville, Mich./Northville), Kyle Duckitt (Johannesburg, South Africa/St. John's College), Aaron Ghiglieri (Central Point, Ore./Cascade Christian), Keltan Lawler (Los Gatos, Calif./Los Gatos), Jack Mangan (Winnetka, Ill./New Trier), Jeremy Raisky (Birmingham, Mich./Berkley), Nate Rietberg (Jenison, Mich./Jenison), and Cameron Stitt (Portland, Ore./Sunset).

Both the men's team and the women's swimming and diving team were honored as Scholar All-America Teams the CSCAA last week (July 10).

The Team Scholar All-American Award is presented to college and university swimming and diving teams that have achieved a team grade point average of 3.0 or higher. The award is presented twice annually, once in the fall semester and again in the spring to recognize teams achieving a 3.0 in the semester.

Contact: Brad Rudner