Team, 11 Individuals Receive CSCAA Scholar All-America Honors
Dan Madwed

July 17, 2012

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- The 2011-12 Big Ten champion University of Michigan men's swimming and diving team received the Team Scholar All-America Award from the College Swimming Coaches Association of America (CSCAA), while a nation-topping nine individuals received Scholar All-America accolades and two other Wolverines earned honorable mention. The Team Scholar All-American Award is presented to college and university swimming and diving teams that have achieved a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or better.

The list of individual Wolverines was led by sophomore Connor Jaeger (Fair Haven, N.J./Rumson-Fair Haven), a 2012 Olympian who will compete in the 1,500-meter freestyle and will be one of six swimmers at the Games with Michigan ties. Also on the list was senior Dan Madwed (Stanford, Conn./Towson), Michigan's 2012 Big Ten Medal of Honor recipient and the Big Ten Swimmer of the Year.

Seven other U-M student-athletes made the list: juniors Ryan Feeley (Rye, N.Y./Rye), Evan Gregg (Blacksburg, Va./Blacksburg) and Miguel Ortiz (Tokyo, Japan/St. Mary's International); sophomores Sean Ryan (Hixson, Tenn./McCallie School) and John Wojciechowski (Scottsdale, Ariz./Brophy Prep); and freshmen Richard Funk (Edmonton, Alberta/Stratchcona) and Bruno Ortiz (Tokyo, Japan/St. Mary's International).

Each Wolverine earned the accolade by virtue of having a grade point average of 3.5 or higher and qualifying for the NCAA Championships.

Junior Connor McCarroll (Portland, Ore./Jesuit) and sophomore Ryutaro Kamiya (Tokyo, Japan/St. Mary's International) took home honorable mention Scholar All-America honors. Each maintained a grade point average of 3.5 or better for the semester or cumulative average, achieved a "B" time standard during the 2011-12 campaign, but did not qualify for the NCAA Championships.

Contact: Scott Kemps (734) 763-4423