Four Wolverines on 2013-14 USA Swimming National Team
Clockwise from top left: Connor Jaeger, Sean Ryan, Michael Wynalda, Kyle Whitaker

Sep 3, 2013

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. -- Seniors Connor Jaeger (Fair Haven, N.J./Rumson-Fair Haven), Sean Ryan (Hixson, Tenn./McCallie School), Kyle Whitaker (Chesterton, Ind./Chesterton) and Michael Wynalda (Wyoming, Mich./Grandville) of the University of Michigan men's swimming and diving team have been named to the 2013-14 USA Swimming National Team, the organization announced on Tuesday (Sept. 3).

All four men represented the United States over the summer in international competition, whether at the World University Games (Ryan, Whitaker, Wynalda) or the FINA World Championships (Jaeger, Ryan). Three of the four won medals: Ryan in the 1,500-meter freestyle (gold), Jaeger in the 400-meter freestyle (bronze) and Wynalda in both the 4x200-meter freestyle relay (silver) and the 4x100-meter medley relay (bronze).

An additional four swimmers that train with Club Wolverine were also named to the team, including former U-M men's swimmers Tyler Clary (2008-10) and Dan Madwed (2009-12), former U-M women's swimmers Emily Brunemann (2006-10) and former University of Texas swimmer Michael Klueh. Former U-M swimmers Charlie Houchin (2007-10) and Justine Mueller (2005-08) were also named to the team, but neither train with Club Wolverine.

The top six athletes (by fastest time) in each of the Olympic events made the team. Times could be taken from the Phillips 66/USA Swimming National Championships and World Championship Trials, 2013 World University Games, 2013 FINA World Championships and 2013 U.S. Open.

Michigan opens the 2013-14 season with a combined men's and women's dual meet against Iowa on Friday, Sept. 27, at 5 p.m. inside Canham Natatorium.

Name Event(s) Years
Connor Jaeger 400 FR, 1,500 FR 2010-Present
Sean Ryan 1,500 FR, OW 10K 2010-Present
Kyle Whitaker 200 IM 2010-Present
Michael Wynalda 200 FR 2010-Present
Emily Brunemann OW 10K 2006-10
Tyler Clary 200 BK, 200 FL, 400 IM 2008-10
Charlie Houchin* 200 FR 2007-10
Justine (Mueller) Bowker* 200 IM 2005-08
Michael Klueh# 400 FR 2005-09
Dan Madwed 200 FL 2009-12

* does not train with Club Wolverine
# competed at University of Texas

Official Release | PDF PDF

Contact: Brad Rudner, Michael Kasiborski (734) 763-4423