This Week in Michigan Men's Swimming & Diving #3

Oct. 22, 2013

• Podcast: Thursday Morning Taper

Fri-Sat., Oct. 25-26
-- at No. 9 Indiana, vs. No. 4 Texas (Bloomington, Ind.), 5 p.m./10 a.m.

Statistics: Top Times PDF | Diving Bests
Social Media: Facebook | Twitter

After a two-week break, the top-ranked University of Michigan men's swimming and diving team (3-0, 1-0 Big Ten) returns to action this weekend, facing a pair of NCAA rivals at the Counsilman-Billingsley Aquatic Center in Bloomington, Ind. The Wolverines first square off against No. 9 Indiana (0-2) and No. 4 Texas (1-0) in a double-dual meet at 5 p.m. on Friday (Oct. 25) before returning the pool the following morning for the Eddie Reese Double Distance Invitational at 10 a.m. on Saturday (Oct. 26). The women's teams from all three schools will also be participating.


Friday, Oct. 11
200-yard Medley Relay
1,000-yard Freestyle
200-yard Freestyle
100-yard Backstroke
100-yard Breaststroke
200-yard Butterfly
50-yard Freestyle
One-Meter Diving
100-yard Freestyle
200-yard Backstroke
200-yard Breaststroke
500-yard Freestyle
100-yard Butterfly
Three-Meter Diving
200-yard Individual Medley
400-yard Freestyle Relay

The Eddie Reese Double Distance Invitational on Saturday will not be scored.


• In its dual-meet history, U-M is 44-30-3 all-time against Indiana and 7-8 all-time against Texas. The three teams are meeting for a double-dual meet for the fifth time in the last six years, meeting in 2009, 2011, 2012 and 2013.

• Three of Michigan's first four dual-meet opponents finished in the top 10 of last year's NCAA Championships: Auburn (No. 8, who Michigan beat on Oct. 11) and Indiana and Texas (Oct. 25-26). The Wolverines also have dual meets scheduled with Purdue (Jan. 10), Northwestern (Jan. 11), Ohio State (Feb. 1) and Michigan State (Feb. 8).

• Senior John Wojciechowski received his first career Big Ten Swimmer of the Week honor back on Oct. 15. He won six total races (four relay, two individual) at the Dennis Stark Relays (Oct. 10) and against Notre Dame and Auburn (Oct. 11). [ Release ]

• Since the beginning of the 2008-09 season, the Wolverines have gone 43-3-1 in dual meets under the direction of head swimming coach Mike Bottom, including a 26-1 mark in Big Ten action.

• Eleven swimmers and two relay teams currently rank in the top 10 nationally in their respective events:

Event Name Rank (Time)
50-yard Freestyle Bruno Ortiz 3rd - 20.09
100-yard Freestyle John Wojciechowski 1st - 44.06#
200-yard Freestyle Michael Wynalda 1st - 1:37.31
  Anders Nielsen 7th - 1:37.73
  Justin Glanda 8th - 1:37.85
500-yard Freestyle Connor Jaeger 3rd - 4:24.56
1,000-yard Freestyle Connor Jaeger 1st - 9:02.50
  Anders Nielsen 9th - 9:12.73
  Sean Ryan 10th - 9:14.22
100-yard Backstroke John Wojciechowski 10th - 48.59
200-yard Backstroke Ryutaro Kamiya 10th - 1:46.74
100-yard Breaststroke Richard Funk 2nd - 54.69
200-yard Breaststroke Richard Funk 9th - 2:00.13
100-yard Butterfly John Wojciechowski 6th - 48.24
200-yard Butterfly Dylan Bosch 4th - 1:46.38
  Kyle Whitaker 10th - 1:47.91
200-yard IM Kyle Whitaker 6th - 1:48.41
  Dylan Bosch 8th - 1:49.17
400-yard Freestyle Relay John Wojciechowski, Vinny Tafuto,
Jack Mangan, Ryutaro Kamiya
1st - 2:56.79
200-yard Medley Relay John Wojciechowski, Richard Funk,
Dylan Bosch, Bruno Ortiz
1st - 1:27.85

# - Achieved during leadoff leg of 400-yard freestyle relay

• The following U-M student-athletes have automatic or provisional-qualifying times for the 2014 NCAA Championships, to be held March 27-29 at the Lee and Joe Jamail Texas Swimming Center:

Kevin Bain
Three-meter diving (334.20^)

Dylan Bosch
200-yard butterfly (1:46.38#)

Richard Funk
100-yard breaststroke (54.69#)

Justin Glanda
200-yard freestyle (1:37.85#)

Connor Jaeger
500-yard freestyle (4:24.56#)

Anders Nielsen
200-yard freestyle (1:37.73#)

Bruno Ortiz
50-yard freestyle (20.09#)

James Ross
One-meter diving (337.05^)

Kyle Whitaker
200-yard IM (1:48.41#)

John Wojciechowski
100-yard freestyle (44.06#)
100-yard butterfly (48.24#)

Michael Wynalda
200-yard freestyle (1:37.31#)

* Automatic qualifying time
# Provisional qualifying time
^ Zone Diving qualifying score

• Five swimmers enter this weekend having won their respective races in each of the team's first two meets: Connor Jaeger (500-yard freestyle, 1,000-yard freestyle), Dylan Bosch (200-yard butterfly), Richard Funk (100-yard breaststroke), Kyle Whitaker (200-yard IM) and John Wojciechowski (100-yard backstroke).

• Several athletes have witnessed a time drop of one second or more from their first meet (Iowa on Sept. 27) to their second (Oct. 11 at Notre Dame/Auburn):

  • Dylan Bosch in the 200-yard IM (1:51.65 to 1:49.17).
  • Richard Funk in the 200-yard breaststroke (2:02.91 to 2:00.13).
  • Connor Jaeger in the 500-yard freestyle (4:27.09 to 4:24.56) and 1,000-yard freestyle (9:04.53 to 9:02.50).
  • Ryutaro Kamiya in the 200-yard backstroke (1:48.19 to 1:46.74) and 200-yard IM (1:54.26 to 1:52.52).
  • Matt McNamara in the 200-yard breaststroke (2:04.57 to 2:03.56).
  • Will Raynor in the 200-yard backstroke (1:55.74 to 1:50.54).
  • Sean Ryan in the 500-yard freestyle (4:38.16 to 4:31.42) and 1,000-yard freestyle (9:26.99 to 9:14.22).
  • Michael Wynalda in the 200-yard freestyle (1:39.02 to 1:37.31).


Indiana is 0-2 on the season, opening the year with a pair of road dual-meet losses to California (173-122) and Stanford (183-111) back on Oct. 11 and Oct. 12, respectively. Last season, the Hoosiers finished ninth at the NCAA Championships, their highest finish since 1980. Indiana returns a number of top swimmers off last year's squad, including Cody Miller (2013 NCAA All-American in 100-yard breaststroke and 200-yard breaststroke), Eric Ress (2013 NCAA All-American in 100-yard backstroke and 200-yard backstroke) and James Wells (2013 NCAA All-American in 100-yard backstroke). The Hoosiers also boast several top divers, including NCAA Championships finalists Darian Schmidt (2013 Big Ten Diver of the Year), Conor Murphy and Emad Abdelatif.

Texas is 1-0 on the season, defeating North Carolina, 171.5-126.5, back on Oct. 17 in Austin. Like Indiana, Texas was a top 10 team at last year's NCAA Championships, finishing fifth. Though they graduated a large senior class, the Longhorns are led by one of the nation's top freshmen in Jack Conger, who is ranked second in the nation in the 100-yard butterfly and third in the 200-yard freestyle. Other top swimmers include Clay Youngquist (freestyle/butterfly), Kip Darmody (backstroke, butterfly), John Martens (freestyle), Sam Lewis (distance) and Will Chandler (diving).

U-M was last in the water two weeks ago in South Bend, Ind., winning the 49th annual Dennis Stark Relays on Oct. 10 and defeating Notre Dame (201-99) and Auburn (195-103) on Oct. 11. [ Recaps: Dennis Stark Relays | Notre Dame/Auburn ]

Fri-Sun., Nov. 22-24 -- host University of Michigan Open (Canham Natatorium)
Fri-Sun, Nov. 22-24 -- at Pitt Panthers Invitational - Divers Only (Pittsburgh, Pa.)

Thursday Morning Taper (Podcast) -- Every Thursday
Alumni Q&A -- Brent Lang
Brandon's Blog -- Champions in the Pool and Classroom

Contact: Brad Rudner (734) 763-4423