Weekly #4: Divers to Compete at Three-Day Pitt Invitational
Jack Lee

Nov. 14, 2011

Fri-Sun., Nov. 18-20
-- at Pitt Invitational - Diving (Pittsburgh, Pa.), 1 p.m./1 p.m./Noon
Live Results

The University of Michigan will send its men's divers this coming weekend (Fri-Sun., Nov. 18-20) to the Pittsburgh Invitational. Teams in competition will be Ohio State, Connecticut, Cincinnati, West Virginia, and the host institution, Pittsburgh from Trees Pool in Pittsburgh, Pa.

Friday (three-meter) and Saturday (one-meter) will begin at 1 p.m. with prelims and finals at 6 p.m. On Sunday, the platform prelims begin at noon and finals start at 1:30 p.m.

Canham Natatorium to Host First-Ever Professional Swim Meet
Michigan will host the initial meet in the formation of the Professional Swimming League in a dual-meet style event Wednesday and Thursday (Nov. 16-17). The event, entitled Pro Dual 1, will commence Wednesday at 8 p.m. The event is the first meet of its kind to feature prize money for placewinners and boasts an impressive roster of 16 Olympians and 14 United States National Team members.

The meet festivities begin at 5 p.m. on Wednesday with a meet and greet with the participants, serving as an opportunity to mingle with Olympic-caliber swimmers. Pizza will be served at the gathering, and tickets cost $10 at the door. The U-M dance team will also be on hand performing throughout the night.

Former Wolverine swimmers Bobby Savulich (2006-09), Davis Tarwater (2003-06), Matt Patton (2006-09), Chris Brady (2007-10) and Charlie Houchen (2007-10) in attendance and competing in the event.

Morrison Lone Upperclassman
Senior Chris Morrison (Fenton, Mich./Fenton) returns to anchor the diving squad after placing 14th off the platform with a 250.55, 19th in the three-meter (315.85) and 30th in the one-meter (234.55) in the NCAA Championships during his junior campaign. He holds career bests of 315.65 in the one-meter, 342.30 in the three-meter, which was second on the team last season, and a 341.78 in the platform competition.

Young Diving Team
Of the 10 diving team members, five carry freshman eligibility, while four are sophomores. Sophomore Jack Lee (North Egremont, Mass./Berkshire) returns after a solid freshman season in which he led the team in the one-meter with a 326.17 and in the platform with a 567.00. Additionally, sophomore Thomas Jahnke (Ann Arbor, Mich./Huron) led the team in the three-meter dive with a 367.73 and was third in the platform with a 290.85 at the Big Ten Quad Meet.

Divers Stay Local
Thomas Jahnke, as well as freshman Nate Argetsinger (Ann Arbor, Mich./Huron) and Jeff Camalo (Ann Arbor, Mich./Huron) all hail for Ann Arbor. The trio, along with freshman Kevin Bain (Northville, Mich./Northville), were members of the local Legacy Diving Club, which is based in Canham Natatorium.

Looking to Continue Good Start to Diving Season
In the second meet of the season, a quad-meet sweep of Notre Dame, Oakland and TCU, U-M swept the top three spots (1. Jack Lee, 2. Chris Ervasti, 3. James Ross) in the three-meter dive and went 2-3 (2. Chris Ervasti, 3. James Ross) in the one-meter.

Feeley, Madwed Earn Pan-Am Games Medals
Two current men's swimmers took part in the 2011 Pan-American Games, representing the United States Oct. 15-21 in Guadalajara, Mexico. Junior Ryan Feeley and senior Dan Madwed were each members of the 4x200m freestyle relay gold medalist quartet. Additionally, Feeley participated in the 1,500m freestyle and garnered a silver medal, while Madwed collected a silver medal in the 200m butterfly.

Madwed and Vanderkaay Selected Co-Captains
Seniors Dan Madwed (Stamford, Conn./Towson) and Dane Vanderkaay (Rochester, Mich./Adams) have been named co-captains for the 2011-12 men's swimming and diving team. Madwed is a four-time NCAA All-American and fourth-time Big Ten champion. Vanderkaay earned All-Big Ten second team last season, placing second in the 500-yard freestyle, fourth in the 1,650-yard freestyle and 11th in the 400-yard individual medley at the conference championship.

Returning Big Ten Champions
The Wolverines claimed their league-leading 35th Big Ten championship last season. U-M led wire to wire en route to a 74-point win over Indiana. Head coach Mike Bottom was named the Coach of the Year and Kyle Whitaker (Chesterton, Ind./Chesterton) was named the rookie of the championship. The Wolverines won 11 of the 18 swimming events and scored points in both springboard events. Overall, U-M had 10 swimmers claim individual conference titles.

Six NCAA All-Americans Return in 2011-12
Michigan has six returning All-Americans from last season's team that finished ninth nationally. The Wolverines are led by four-time All-American Dan Madwed, three-time honoree Kyle Whitaker and two-time Sean Ryan. In addition, Ryan Feeley, Sean Fletcher (Vienna, Va./James Madison HS) and Miguel Ortiz earned All-America accolades for the Wolverines.

Bottom in Fourth Season
Mike Bottom is in his fourth season at the helm of the Michigan men's swimming program. The Wolverines have compiled a 26-3-1 record under Bottom, including a 15-1 mark against Big Ten opposition. Bottom has guided the program to a pair of Big Ten Championships crowns (2009 and 2011) and a second-place finish during the 2010 season. He has led the team to three straight top-10 finishes at the NCAA Championships.

Li Directing Divers
KZ Li is in his second season as the head diving coach. He spent two years as the co-head coach of the U.S. Elite Diving Academy in Columbus, Ohio, before accepting the U-M coaching position. Li, who coached Minnesota's divers from 1996-2003, is a two-time Big Ten Diving Coach of the Year, winning the honor in 2001 (men) and 1998 (women).

Follow the Wolverines on Twitter and Facebook
Stay current with everything going on with the Michigan men's swimming and diving team through social media. Sign up and follow the Wolverines on twitter (@umichswimming) and Facebook. Connect with the program, alumni and fans by clicking the "Like" button at facebook.com/michiganmensswimming.

Thu-Sat., Dec. 1-3 -- at Miami Invitational - Diving (Oxford, Ohio)
Fri-Sun., Dec. 2-4 -- at Hawkeye Invitational (Iowa City, Iowa)