King Repeats as Big Ten Athlete of the Year
From left: Evan King, Barrett Franks, Alex Petrone

April 25, 2013

COLUMBUS, Ohio -- For the second consecutive year, senior Evan King (Chicago, Ill./Kaplan Prep) of the University of Michigan men's tennis team has been named Big Ten Conference Athlete of the Year, the conference announced on Thursday evening (April 25) at the annual Big Ten Tournament banquet.

King also earned All-Big Ten first team honors, while junior Barrett Franks (Christchurch, New Zealand/Shirley Boys') was a second-team all-conference selection.

King, ranked No. 11 in the latest ITA singles poll, is the first player in U-M history -- and only the fifth player in Big Ten annals -- to win the prestigious award on two occasions. King owns a 26-4 overall record this season, including a 20-1 mark in dual matches from the No. 1 position. He went a perfect 10-0 in Big Ten dual competition, earning a pair of wins over ranked opponents -- Illinois' 31st-ranked Jared Hiltzik and Minnesota's 49th-ranked Rok Bonin.

"It is a tremendous accomplishment for Evan to be recognized by as the best player in the Big Ten Conference for a second consecutive season," U-M head coach Bruce Berque said. "Many Grand Slam champions and NCAA championship have played in this conference over the years, and for Evan to earn this honor on two occasions speaks volumes about how outstanding his career has been here at Michigan. To go undefeated in conference play two years in a row is no easy feat and is something he should be really proud of."

King earned All-Big Ten first team honors for the fourth straight season, garnering a unanimous selection for the third year in a row. U-M's lone senior, King currently owns a nine-match win streak and has won 22 of his last 23 matches. In doubles play, he is 18-9 on the season, including a 13-6 dual mark from the No. 1 position.

Franks, a team co-captain, was selected to the All-Big Ten second team after finishing the regular season with a career-best 17-3 dual-match record, including a 9-1 mark in conference singles action. The junior has won 11 of his last 12 matches, including one match from the No. 2 position and five from the No. 3 spot. In doubles competition, Franks holds a 14-17 overall record and a 3-4 mark in Big Ten play.

Sophomore Alex Petrone (Staten Island, N.Y./Laurel Springs Prep) was honored as Michigan's Sportsmanship Award honoree. The student-athletes chosen for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award are individuals that have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the student-athletes must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. Petrone is 12-16 this season in singles action and owns a 14-10 doubles record with sophomore Michael Zhu (Princeton, N.J./Keystone National).

As the No. 3 seed in the Big Ten Tournament, the Wolverines will take on either No. 6 Indiana or No. 11 Penn State in the quarterfinal tomorrow (Friday, April 26) at 4 p.m. at Ohio State's Outdoor Varsity Tennis Center in Columbus, Ohio.


First Team
Josh MacTaggart, Indiana
Sam Monette, Indiana
EVAN KING, Michigan
Aaron Pfister, Michigan State
ROK BONIN, Minnesota
Leandro Toledo, Minnesota
Raleigh Smith, Northwestern
Spencer Wolf, Northwestern
Devin McCarthy, Ohio State
BLAZ ROLA, Ohio State
Connor Smith, Ohio State

Second Team
Tim Kopinski, Illinois
Barrett Franks, Michigan
Drew Lied, Michigan State
Chris Diaz, Ohio State
Szymon Tatarczyk, Purdue

Unanimous selections in CAPS

Athlete of the Year: Evan King, Michigan
Freshman of the Year: Jared Hiltzik, Illinois
Coach of the Year: Ty Tucker, Ohio State

Bruno Abdelnoor, Illinois
Chris Essick, Indiana
Jonas Dierckx, Iowa
Alex Petrone, Michigan
Denis Bogatov, Michigan State
Jack Hamburg, Minnesota
Marc Herrmann, Nebraska
Chris Jackman, Northwestern
Blaz Rola, Ohio State
CJ Griffin, Penn State
Krisztian Krocsko, Purdue
Petr Satral, Wisconsin

Media Contact: Zach Eisendrath (734) 763-4423