King's Big Ten Athlete of the Year Highlights Conference Awards
Alex Petrone (L) and Evan King (R)

April 26, 2012

PARK RIDGE, Ill. -- Junior Evan King (Chicago, Ill./Kaplan Prep) of the University of Michigan men's tennis team was named the Big Ten Conference Athlete of the Year on Thursday evening (April 26) in conjunction with the conference tournament banquet. King and freshman Alex Petrone (Staten Island, N.Y./Laurel Springs Prep) were selected to the all-conference first and second team, respectively.

King, ranked No. 7 in the latest ITA singles poll, boasts a career-best 32-6 overall record, including a 20-2 mark in dual matches from the No. 1 position. He went a perfect 11-0 in Big Ten dual competition, earning a pair of wins over top-10 conference opposition -- Illinois' then-No. 4 Dennis Nevolo (7-6 (3), 3-6, 6-3) and Ohio State's No. 6 Blaz Rolo (6-3, 6-3). King currently owns a 15-match win streak and has won 19 of his last 20 matches. In doubles play, he is 20-11 on the season, including a 12-8 dual mark from the No. 1 position.

King is the seventh Wolverine to garner the Big Ten Athlete of the Year award and the first since Peter Pusztai in 1996. King also earned All-Big Ten first team honors for the third straight season, garnering a unanimous selection for the second year in a row.

Petrone was selected to the All-Big Ten second team after finishing the regular season with a solid 14-7 dual-match record, including an 8-3 mark in conference singles matches. The Wolverine rookie played the bulk of the Big Ten season at the No. 2 position, where he went 4-2, and with his 21-11 overall record, he already ranks 13th among Michigan's all-time winningest freshman players. In doubles play, Petrone owns a 19-13 record and posted a 7-4 Big Ten mark from the No. 3 position.

Sophomore Shaun Bernstein (Plainview, N.Y./Plainview Old Bethpage JFK) was honored as Michigan's Sportsmanship honoree for the second consecutive season. The student-athletes chosen for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award are individuals that have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the student-athletes must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. Bernstein is 8-17 this season and, with King, owns a 20-11 doubles record, including a 12-8 dual mark from the No. 1 position.

As the No. 2 seed in the Big Ten Tournament, the Wolverines will take on either Michigan State or Purdue in the quarterfinals tomorrow (Friday, April 27) at 1:30 p.m. CDT at Northwestern's Vandy Christie Tennis Center in Evanston, Ill.


First Team All-Big Ten
Roy Kalmanovich, Illinois
Isade Juneau, Indiana
Josh MacTaggart, Indiana
EVAN KING, Michigan
Aaron Pfister, Michigan State
ROK BONIN, Minnesota
Leandro Toledo, Minnesota
Christopher Aumueller, Nebraska
Peter Kobelt, Ohio State
BLAZ ROLA, Ohio State

Second Team All-Big Ten
Alex Petrone, Michigan
Benedikt Lindheim, Nebraska
Josh Graves, Northwestern
Devin McCarthy, Ohio State
Ille Van Engelen, Ohio State
Mark Kovacs, Purdue

Unanimous selections in CAPS

Athlete of the Year: Evan King, Michigan
Freshman of the Year: Leandro Toledo, Minnesota
Coach of the Year: Ty Tucker, Ohio State

Bruno Abdelnoor, Illinois
Stephen Vogl, Indiana
Garret Dunn, Iowa
Shaun Bernstein, Michigan
Denis Bogatov, Michigan State
Phillip Arndt, Minnesota
Christopher Aumueller, Nebraska
Sidarth Balaji, Northwestern
Steven Williams, Ohio State
Christopher Hasyn, Penn State
Mark Kovacs, Purdue
Petr Satral, Wisconsin

Contact: Leah Howard (734) 763-4423