Ten to be Inducted into 2010 Hall of Fame

March 30, 2010

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- The University of Michigan men's track and field team has announced its 2010 Hall of Fame class, which consists of 10 former U-M track greats, head coach Fred LaPlante announced Tuesday (March 30). The selections consist of one outstanding athlete from each decade and a coach of the century selection. This is the fifth year of inductions, following the 2006 inaugural class. This year's selection of entries include: William Coe (1906), Harry Hawkins (1925-26), Robert Osgood (1935-37), Warren Breidenbach (1939-41), Milt Mead (1952-54), Ben McRae (1960-62), Kim Rowe (1971-74), Chris Brewster (1983-87), Trinity Townsend (1993-96) and former head coach Jack Harvey, who helmed the team from 1975-1999.

William Coe was a member of two U.S. Olympic teams (1904, 1908), winning a silver medal in the shot put at the 1904 Games, behind U-M teammate Ralph Rose, who won the gold. At the 1908 Games, Coe took fourth in the shot put. He was a two-time national champion and at one time held the world record in the shot put. Coe was also a Penn Relays champion.

Harry Hawkins was the 1926 NCAA champion in the outdoor hammer throw, besting the field with a top mark of 148-0 1/4. He was also a two-time All-American (1925, 1926) in addition to his NCAA title, and was a Big Ten and Penn Relays champion in 1926. Hawkins was also a two-sport star, having played football for the Wolverines under Fielding H. Yost from 1923-25 (third-team All-American in 1925).

Robert Osgood was a two-time All-American and the 1936 NCAA champion in the outdoor 400-meter high hurdles. In 1937, Osgood was selected as the team captain for the Wolverines. At the Big Ten Championships in Ann Arbor that year (May 1937), Osgood cracked the world record in the 120-yard high hurdles with a time of 14.0 seconds, one-tenth of a second better than 1936 gold medalist Forrest Towns. The record stood until April 1938. Osgood was inducted into the University of Michigan Athletic Hall of Honor in 1983.

Jack Harvey

Warren Breidenbach was a three-time All-American and two-time Big Ten champion during his years at Michigan. He also was a Drake Relays champion. He competed in the 400 and 800-meter runs. After his time at Michigan, Breidenbach got an M.D. from Harvard Medical School and served in the U.S. Navy during World War II.

Milt Mead was the 1953 NCAA champion in the outdoor high jump, setting the bar with a top height of 6-8 1/2 feet. He was a two-time All-American and two-time Big Ten champion.

Ben McRae is a six-time Big Ten champion; in 1960, he won the 70-yard low hurdles (indoor); in 1961, the 70-yard high and 70-yard low hurdles (indoor) as well as the 120-yard high hurdles (outdoor); and in 1962, he won the 120-yard high hurdles and 220-yard low hurdles (outdoor). McRae is member of the U-M Hall of Honor.

Kim Rowe was a member of the 1972 Jamaican Olympic team and a 10-time Big Ten champion. He was a co-captain of the 1974 U-M team along with Stephen Adams. In 1972, Rowe was a member of the mile relay team, which took third at the NCAA Championships, along with Eric Chapman, Reggie Bradford and Greg Syphax. He was also runner-up at the 1973 NCAA Indoor Championships in the 440-yard dash, finishing second, making him a two-time All-American.

Chris Brewster was an All-American in 1987 after a runner-up finish in the 10,000-meter run. He was a four-time Big Ten champion and a 1985 Penn Relays champion (10,000-meter run; 28:39.6). He was a captain of the 1987 U-M team with Butch Starmack.

Trinity Townsend was an NCAA champion in the distance medley relay during the 1995 season, along with fellow Hall of Fame member Kevin Sullivan, Nick Karfonta and Ian Forsyth. Townsend is a four-time All-American and Big Ten champion.

Jack Harvey coached the Michigan men's track and field team from 1975-1999, and also lettered at Michigan, graduating in 1967. As a student-athlete, Harvey was an All-American in 1967 after taking second at the NCAA Championships in the shot put. He was also a two-time Big Ten champion, as well as a two-time Penn Relays champion. He was team captain of the 1967 squad. As a coach, Harvey coached 10 Big Ten champion teams and led the Wolverines to five NCAA top-10 team finishes. The 1980 National Coach of the Year, he coached 11 NCAA individual champions and 93 All-Americans in his tenure.

The honorees will be formally inducted at the men's track and field banquet on May 7.

Contact: Brad Rudner (734) 763-4423