A Dozen Wolverines to Represent Michigan at NCAA East Prelims
Ethan Dennis

May 22, 2014

Complete Entry List

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- Twelve members of the University of Michigan men's track and field team qualified for the NCAA Division I East Preliminary Rounds, the NCAA announced today (Thursday, May 22). The meet will be held from May 29-31 at the University of North Florida in Jacksonville, Fla.

The top 48 athletes in both the east and west regions in each event (in descending order), as well as the top 24 relays from each region, qualified for the meet. The athletes will participate in two rounds (first round and quarterfinals) during the preliminary round. Twelve competitors from each individual event and 12 teams from each relay event will advance from each preliminary championship competition to the NCAA Championships. This year's national meet will be held from June 11-14 in Eugene, Ore.


Name -- Event (Seed, Time/Mark)
Mason Ferlic -- 3,000m Steeplechase (9, 8:47.91); 5,000m (11, 13:55.12)
Morsi Rayyan -- 5,000m (19, 14:00.77); 10,000m (13, 29:12.94)
Mark Beams -- 10,000m (16, 29:15.70)
August Pappas -- 10,000m (25, 29:29.16)
Bradley James -- High Jump (18, 2.14m)
Patrick Cochran -- Long Jump (27, 7.54m)
Derek Sievers -- Shot Put (27, 18.25m)
Cody Riffle -- Shot Put (31, 18.06m)
Justin Gaumer -- Shot Put (48, 17.44m)
Ethan Dennis -- Hammer Throw (7, 66.36m)
Brad Bolton -- Hammer Throw (33, 61.26m)
Stephen Burk -- Javelin (23, 68.10m)

This will mark the second trip to the regional meet for senior/junior Mark Beams (Vicksburg, Mich./Vicksburg), junior/sophomore Brad Bolton (Lake Forest, Calif./El Toro), junior/sophomore Mason Ferlic (St. Paul, Minn./Mounds Park Academy), fifth-year senior Bradley James (East Lansing, Mich./Haslett) and senior/junior Morsi Rayyan (Dewitt, Mich./St. Johns), while senior/junior Cody Riffle (Toledo, Ohio/St. John's Jesuit) will make his third appearance at the NCAA prelims, and fifth-year senior Ethan Dennis (Grand Rapids, Mich./Grandville) will return for the fourth straight year. Ferlic and Riffle are both returning second team All-Americans from 2013, while Dennis was an All-America honorable mention a year ago.

Contact: Whitney Dixon (whitdix@umich.edu)