Week #3: Wolverines Off to Las Vegas for Cliff Keen Invite

Dec. 3, 2013

Adam Coon Spotlight

Fri-Sat., Dec. 6-7 -- at Cliff Keen Las Vegas Invitational (Las Vegas, Nev.), 9 a.m. PST
Twitter Updates | Live Blog | Cliff Keen Invite Site | Flowrestling

Social Media: Facebook | Twitter

The No. 20-ranked University of Michigan wrestling team (2-2) will take its annual trip out west this weekend, heading to Las Vegas, Nev., to compete in the 32nd annual Cliff Keen Las Vegas Invitational on Friday and Saturday (Dec. 6-7) at the Las Vegas Convention Center. Action will begin at 9 a.m. PST both days of competition, with the championship round slated for 3 p.m. on Saturday afternoon.

This year's field at the Cliff Keen Invitational will feature 33 teams, including 12 teams ranked in the most-recent NWCA poll. In addition to the 20th-ranked Maize and Blue, headlining the participating teams are No. 4 Oklahoma, No. 6 Cornell, No. 8 Ohio State, No. 10 Nebraska, No. 12 Northern Iowa, No. 13 Virginia and No. 14 Virginia Tech.

Michigan's Projected Starting Lineup

Wgt. Name Year/Elig. Hometown (High School)
125 Conor Youtsey So./Fr. Parma, Mich. (Mason)
133 Rossi Bruno So./So. Brandon, Fla. (Brandon)
141 Angelo Latora So./Fr. Portage, Mich. (Central)
149 Eric Grajales 5th/Sr. Brandon, Fla. (Brandon)
157 Brian Murphy Fr./Fr. Carol Stream, Ill. (Glenbard North)
165 Dan Yates 5th/Sr. Hesperia, Mich. (Hesperia)
174 Ben Ralston Sr./Jr. Oxford, Mich. (Oxford)
184 Max Huntley Sr./Jr. Emerald Isle, N.C. (Blair Academy)
197 Chris Heald Sr./Jr. West Bloomfield, Mich. (West Bloomfield)
Hwt Adam Coon Fr./Fr. Fowlerville, Mich. (Fowlerville)

History Lesson: Cliff Keen Las Vegas Invitational
Michigan has competed in the annual tournament 30 times dating back to 1983, missing only the first year of the tournament in 1982. Formerly known as the Las Vegas Classic, the tournament was renamed the Cliff Keen Invitational in 1993 to honor former Michigan wrestling coach and collegiate wrestling icon Cliff Keen. The tournament is run by a pair of former Michigan wrestlers -- three-time NCAA champion Mark Churella Sr. (1976-79) and Mark Churella Jr. (2001), who serve as executive director and tournament director, respectively.

Michigan has placed fifth or better in 13 of the last 19 seasons at the annual tournament, including first-place showings in 2001, 2005, 2006 and 2007. The Wolverines took 12th place at last year's event with three placewinners -- Taylor Massa (fifth, 165 pounds), Dan Yates (second, 174) and Max Huntley (eighth, 197).


• Freshman heavyweight Adam Coon improved to 8-0 on the season with a 5-3 decision against Stanford's Josh Marchok (Nov. 20). He is U-M's lone undefeated starter, boasting a perfect 4-0 mark in dual competition and 4-0 record in open-tournament action. He captured the heavyweight title at the MSU Open in his collegiate debut.

• Coon capped the Oregon State dual with a solid 7-2 decision against fellow freshman Amarveer Dhesi, earning a second-period reversal and two takedowns in the third. Coon had lost his previous meeting against Dhesi, falling 4-1, 4-0, in the 120kg freestyle final of the FILA Junior Championships.

• Fifth-year senior Eric Grajales knocked off the nation's No. 1-ranked Scott Sakaguchi of Oregon State, 10-6, on Sunday, Nov. 17, using a big five-point move in the first period and late third-period takedown to pick up his first win of the season. Grajales is 2-1 against Oregon State's Scott Sakaguchi. They split two matches last season with Sakaguchi winning 9-6 in the early-season dual and Grajales taking the National Duals meeting, 6-4.

• Yates and senior/junior Max Huntley both dropped down a weight class to 165 and 184 pounds, respectively, while junior/sophomore Chris Heald will move up to 197 pounds. Yates previously wrestled two seasons at 165 pounds, where he was a two-time NCAA qualifier before moving up to 174 pounds last season. Huntley and Heald swapped spots in the lineup; Huntley was previously a two-time NCAA qualifier at 197 pounds.

• Sophomore Taylor Massa, who reached the NCAA Round of 12 last season and led the Wolverines with a 27-10 record at 165 pounds, will redshirt the 2013-14 season. He has competed in two open tournaments already this season, compiling a combined 9-0 record en route to second place at 174 pounds at the MSU Open (Nov. 9) and first at 165 pounds at the EMU Open (Nov. 16).

U-M Individual Rankings

Wt. Wrestler InterMat AWN W.I.N. Flo D1CW
125 Conor Youtsey 12 15 16 17 15
133 Rossi Bruno 18 -- 18 -- 20
149 Eric Grajales 7 13 12 7 9
165 Dan Yates 8 9 17 8 5
184 Max Huntley 10 -- 19 20 25
Hwt Adam Coon 19 16 13 16 17

The Wolverines were doomed by a sluggish start and bonus points against No. 23 Stanford, falling, 23-13, in their most-recent outing (Nov. 20). The Cardinal won three of the opening four weight classes, but U-M rallied to tie the team score with four bouts remaining when Stanford's Bret Baumbach earned a pin at 157 pounds to give his team a sizable advantage. Four Wolverines won their individual bouts: Adam Coon (Hwt), Angelo Latora (141), Eric Grajales (149) and Max Huntley (184). [ Full Recap ]

Sunday, Dec. 15 -- vs. Central Michigan (Cliff Keen Arena), 2 p.m.

Sign up for Michigan Insider to be the first to learn about 2017-18 Michigan wrestling ticket opportunities.