Postgame Notes: Michigan 60, Villanova 52

March 24, 2013

Recap |  Box Score |  Quotes |  Photo Gallery 

• The Wolverines collected their 22nd win, tying for the program record for victories in a season. The previous 22-win campaign came in 1999-2000 (22-8).

• This is the third time in school history that the Wolverines have advanced to the second round of the NCAA Tournament (1990, 2001 and 2013).

• Head coach Kim Barnes Arico is taking a team to the NCAA tourney for the fifth time and improved to 6-4 all-time at the national tournament.

• Barnes Arico has advanced to the second round in five straight NCAA Tournament appearances.

• This was the first meeting between Michigan and Villanova. With the victory, Barnes Arico is now 6-6 all-time against the Wildcats and has claimed four straight victories against the former Big East foe.

• Michigan's players sported the throwback uniforms worn during the Crisler Center Dedication game against Michigan State on Feb. 16. The Wolverines are now 2-0 in those uniforms.

• Senior forward Nya Jordan fell one rebound shy of equaling Sheffer's double-double performance. Jordan contributed 12 points, nine rebounds and three assists. She had six rebounds and two points at half.

• Jordan's nine rebounds are the sixth-best total in U-M history during the NCAA Tournament.

• Senior forward Kate Thompson inched closer to the 1,000-point barrier with 17 points. She needs six points against Stanford to reach it.

• Thompson's 17-point effort ties for the seventh-best scoring total in NCAA postseason history for the Wolverines. It surpassed her 15-point total against Oklahoma last season.

• Senior guard Jenny Ryan had a personal-best 13 points in NCAA Tournament play. Last season, Ryan had six points and eight rebounds against Oklahoma.

• Sophomore guard Nicole Elmblad scored her first career points in the NCAA Tournament, a jumper in the lane at 16:37 of the first half. She added two rebounds in the contest.

»  Learn about Michigan women's basketball season tickets for the 2017-18 season.