Eight Wolverines, Team Earn NFHCA Academic Honors

March 5, 2013

CHANDLER, Ariz. -- Eight members of the University of Michigan field hockey team have been named to the Division I National All-Academic Squad as announced by the National Field Hockey Coaches Association on Tuesday (March 5). The Wolverines were also recognized collectively, earning a 2012 NFHCA Division I National Academic Team Award for boasting a combined GPA of 3.0 or higher during the fall semester.

The individual honorees include freshman Emily Ashken (Westport, Conn./Staples HS), freshman Jaime Dean (Marathon, N.Y./Whitney Point HS), junior/sophomore Sammy Gray (Wilmette, Ill./North Shore Country Day School), junior/sophomore Lauren Hauge (Tulsa, Okla./Holland Hall HS), freshman Chris Lueb (Westport, Conn./Staples HS), freshman Taryn Mark (West Vancouver, B.C./West Vancouver Secondary), freshman Lauren Thomas (Aylesbury, England/Aylesbury HS) and sophomore Axelle Wouters (Antwerp, Belgium/Onze Lieve Vrouwe Antwerp).

Three Wolverines earned repeat selection to the NFHCA National Academic Squad. Gray and Hauge each garnered the distinction for the third consecutive year, while Wouters was named to the squad for the second year in a row. The trio was also named to the Academic All-Big Ten team in the fall.

Players named to the NFHCA National Academic Squad must have attained a minimum overall grade-point average of 3.30 through the first semester of the 2012-13 academic year.

Michigan, the Big Ten regular-season and tournament runner-up, posted a 15-7 record during the season and qualified for the NCAA Tournament for the third consecutive season.

Contact: Leah Howard (734) 763-4423