Seven Wolverines, Team Earn NFHCA Academic Honors
March 16, 2017

CHANDLER, Ariz. -- The University of Michigan field hockey team earned a spot on the 2016 Zag Field Hockey/NFHCA Collegiate National Academic Team Award list, while seven Wolverines were named to the organization's Division I National Academic Squad, the NFHCA announced this week.

Michigan was named to the National Academic Team after achieving a minimum grade-point average of 3.0 during the fall semester of the 2016-17 academic year. Michigan was one of 76 schools in Division I to earn this honor, including one of eight Big Ten Conference programs.

The individual honorees include freshman Clare Brush, graduate student Esther de Leijer, sophomore Marleise Emrhein, senior Sina Lampe, junior Morgan Malone, senior Eliza Stein and freshman Kate Walker.

Stein, a biopsychology, cognition and neuroscience major, was named to the team for the fourth time in her career, becoming the eighth Wolverine to be named at least four times to the team (Eileen Brandes, Mary Fox, Sammy Gray, Nicole Lonsway, Lauren MacMillan, Molly Maloney, Chris Lueb). Malone is a three-time honoree, while Emrhein and Lampe earned the distinction for the second time in their careers.

Michigan has placed at least five individuals on the national academic team in each of the last eight seasons. Seven Wolverines were previously honored this year with Academic All-Big Ten distinction.

Players named to the NFHCA National Academic Squad must have attained a minimum overall GPA of 3.30 through the first semester of the 2015-16 academic year.

The Wolverines wrapped up the 2016 season with a 12-8 record, including a 5-3 mark in Big Ten Conference games, en route to the program's 13th NCAA Tournament appearance.

Communications Contact: Leah Howard