Eight Wolverines Earn NFHCA Academic Accolades

March 19, 2014

CHANDLER, Ariz. -- Eight members of the University of Michigan field hockey team have been named to the Division I National All-Academic Squad as announced by the National Field Hockey Coaches Association on Wednesday (March 19).

The individual honorees include Alice Brown (Canterbury, England (Simon Langton Girls' Grammar School), Sammy Gray (Wilmette, Ill./North Shore Country Day School), Lauren Hauge (Tulsa, Okla./Holland Hall HS), Sina Lampe (Bergisch Gladbach, Germany/Gymnasium Herkenrath), Chris Lueb (Hertogenbosch, Netherlands/Staples HS (Conn.)), Rachael Mack (Bromsgrove, England/Bromsgrove School), Shannon Scavelli (Yorktown Heights, N.Y./Lakeland Shrub Oak HS) and Eliza Stein (Ann Arbor, Mich./Pioneer HS).

Four Wolverines earned repeat selection to the NFHCA National Academic Squad, most notably Gray and Hauge, who garner the distinction for the fourth straight season. Lueb and Mack both earned their second selection to the academic squad.

Players named to the NFHCA National Academic Squad must have attained a minimum overall grade-point average of 3.30 through the first semester of the 2013-14 academic year.

Contact: Leah Howard (lchoward@umich.edu)