New Home Announced for 2015-16 Big Ten Championships

May 22, 2014

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. -- The Big Ten Conference announced today (Thursday, May 22) that The Fort Golf Course in Indianapolis, Ind., will be the site for the 2015 and 2016 Big Ten Women's Golf Championships. The 2015 championships are slated for the weekend of April 24-26, while the 2016 event will take place April 22-24.

The Fort rests on property that was part of the former Ft. Benjamin Harrison military base, decommissioned in the early 1990s. The state of Indiana took over the facility as well as the surrounding 1,700 acres, much of which was transformed into a state park upon approval from the U.S. Department of Interior. The golf course reopened in 1997, designed to play a par of 72 by renowned architect Pete Dye.

The course is consistently ranked by numerous national golf publications as one of the top facilities in Indiana. In 2014, GolfWeek magazine listed The Fort as the top-ranked public golf course in the Indianapolis area and the highest ranked course not associated with an accompanying casino in the entire state.

For the past three seasons, the event has been held at the French Lick Resort in French Lick, Ind., on both the Donald Ross course (2012, 2013) and the Pete Dye course (2014).

Upon the closing of the 2016 edition of the conference postseason event, the Big Ten Women's Golf Championships will have been hosted by the state of Indiana for five straight years, and seven of the last 11 years.

Contact: Chad Shepard (