Schueler Reserves Spot on All-ALC Second Team
Anna Schueler

May 1, 2014

ERIE, Pa. -- Freshman Anna Schueler (Chicago, Ill./Loyola Academy) of the University of Michigan women's lacrosse team became the first player in program history to earn postseason recognition, as she was selected to the All-American Lacrosse Conference (ALC) second team on Thursday, May 1.

Schueler, who was named Michigan's Most Valuable Player at the team's recent awards banquet, received the program's first two ALC weekly honors, being named ALC Rookie of the Week in back-to-back weeks (March 26 and April 2).

As one of five members of U-M's Leadership Council, she owns a team-high 31 goals and is second in points with 41. Schueler is one of U-M's four primary players taking the draw, and leads the team with 51 draw controls, securing three or more in 10 games this season. In back-to-back games against Johns Hopkins (March 16) and Winthrop (March 20), Schueler came away with a career-best six draw controls. She also leads the Maize and Blue with 16 caused turnovers and is third in ground balls with 23. She has had a team-best 10 multi-goal games this season, including each of the last four games. Her career-high five goals against UC Davis, including the game-winner in double overtime, match a program record for goals in a single game.

Schueler and the Wolverines will kick off postseason play today (Thursday, May 1) at the ALC Tournament, which will be hosted by Northwestern at Lakeside Field in Evanston, Ill. Michigan, the No. 7 seed, will face No. 2 seed Ohio State in the first round of the tournament at 7 p.m. CDT

ALC First Team
Nora Barry, Florida
Sammy Cermack, Johns Hopkins
Jackie Cifarelli, Ohio State
Madison Cyr, Penn State
Taylor D'Amore, Johns Hopkins
Tori DeScenza, Ohio State
Taylor Donahue, Ohio State
Alyssa Dunlap, Vanderbilt
Shannon Gilroy, Florida
Kerri Harrington, Northwestern
Alyssa Leonard, Northwestern
Lauren Purvis, Penn State

ALC Second Team
Bridget Bianco, Northwestern
Sammi Burgess, Florida
Katie Chase, Ohio State
Kaleigh Craig, Northwestern
Dené DiMartino, Johns Hopkins
Caroline Fitzgerald, Florida
Kate McDonald, Northwestern
Maggie McCormick, Penn State
Jenna Mosketti, Penn State
Anna Schueler, Michigan
Haley Schweizer, Johns Hopkins
Abby Wheeler, Vanderbilt

Contact: Whitney Dixon

»  Beginning with the 2017 season, entry to regular-season home events will be free of charge.