U-M Unveils 2015 Schedule, Inaugural Big Ten Matchups
Aug. 15, 2014

2015 U-M Women's Lacrosse Schedule

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- University of Michigan women's lacrosse head coach Jennifer Ulehla announced the schedule for the team's second season as a varsity program today (Friday, Aug. 15). The Wolverines' 16-game lineup will feature eight home contests as well as five games against opponents from the newly formed Big Ten Conference.

The Maize and Blue will open the 2015 season by making the trip to Florida (Feb. 14) for the second consecutive year. Michigan and Florida faced off in Gainesville, Fla., in 2014, when both teams were members of the former American Lacrosse Conference (ALC).

Michigan will open home competition on Feb. 28 against St. Bonaventure, beginning at 5 p.m. inside Oosterbaan Fieldhouse. The remainder of U-M's home games will be played at Michigan Stadium.

The Wolverines' 2015 spring trip will take them across the country to California to take on Cal (March 3) and St. Mary's (March 6). U-M earned the second win in program history against Cal a year ago, coming away with a thrilling 13-12 victory in double overtime.

U-M will begin Big Ten Conference play on March 27 at Ohio State. The remainder of U-M's conference lineup includes road games at Penn State (April 9) and at defending national champion Maryland (April 18), as well as home tilts against Northwestern (April 2) and Rutgers (April 26). Ohio State, Penn State and Northwestern were also members of the ALC during the conference's final year in 2014.

Michigan's other non-conference home matchups include Virginia Tech (March 11), Niagara (March 14), Colorado (March 22), Duquesne (April 5) and Notre Dame (April 12). The Wolverines will also play two other non-conference games on the road at Winthrop (Feb. 22) and Marquette (March 20).

Overall, the Wolverines will face six teams that advanced to the 2014 NCAA Tournament and finished the season ranked among the top-15 programs in the nation. In addition to four teams from the Big Ten -- Maryland, Northwestern, Ohio State and Penn State -- Florida and Notre Dame also appear on that list.

The inaugural 2015 Big Ten Women's Lacrosse Tournament will be hosted by first-year member, Rutgers, from April 30-May 3 in New Brunswick, N.J. With the addition of Rutgers and Maryland to the league, the Big Ten women's lacrosse conference has six teams, which is the required amount for an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament.

The NCAA Tournament will begin on May 8 and conclude with the semifinals and national championship game on May 22 and 24, respectively, in Philadelphia, Pa.

Tickets for the 2015 women's lacrosse inaugural season will be on sale soon. Be the first to find out when tickets are available by signing up for the Michigan Insider at MGoBlue.com/insider.

Contact: Whitney Dixon