Saturday Sees U-M Finish Regular Season at No. 7 Princeton

May 4, 2013

Site: Princeton, N.J. (Lake Carnegie)
First Varsity Eight Finish: #7 Princeton (6:32.0), #13 Michigan (6:44.5)
Next U-M Race: Sunday, May 19 -- at Big Ten Championships (Indianapolis, Ind.), 9 a.m.

PRINCETON, N.J. -- The 13th-ranked University of Michigan women's rowing team finished the regular season with a head-to-head competition against seventh-ranked Princeton on Saturday (May 4) at Lake Carnegie. The Wolverines were unable to claim victory in any of the five races against the Tigers.

Princeton's first varsity eight boat outpaced Michigan's boat by 12.5 seconds and its second varsity eight claimed close to a 15-second advantage over U-M. The closest competition of the day came in the 1V4 race, where the Tigers held on for a five-second victory over the Wolverines.

Michigan's two novice boats rowed against Princeton's 3V8, finishing 12 and 19 seconds behind the Tigers varsity squad.

Michigan and Princeton finished the competition with a four across race between the 2V4 and 3V4 boats. The Tigers 3V4 won the competition followed closely by the Wolverines 2V4 (7:50.0) and 3V4 (7:50.8). U-M's two boats were separated by eight tenths of a second and finished nearly 10 seconds ahead of Princeton's 3V4.

The Wolverines will take a week off before heading to Indianapolis, Ind., for the 2013 Big Ten Championships. Michigan will look to defend its conference championship on Sunday, May 19, at 9 a.m.


First Varsity Eight: Princeton (6:32.0), Michigan (6:44.5)

Second Varsity Eight: Princeton (6:40.6), Michigan (6:55.3)

First Varsity Four: Princeton (7:42.2), Michigan (7:47.3)

Third Varsity Eight/First Novice/Second Novice: Princeton 3V (7:06.5), Michigan 1N8 (7:18.5), Michigan 2N8 (7:25.6)

Second Varsity Four/Third Varsity Four: Princeton B (7:44.8), Michigan B (7:50.0), Michigan C (7:50.8), Princeton C (8:00.1)


First Varsity Eight: Kate Grimaldi (coxswain), Melisa Ongun, Chrissy Holm, Emily Idoni, Jessica Eiffert, Bryna Oleshansky, Taylor Schubert, Priscilla Livingston, Shannon Stief

Second Varsity Eight: Colleen Macke (coxswain), Carrie Lofgren, Emily Sullenberger, Hannah Moscati, Shannon Winchell, Alex Spaulding, Nicole Flyer, Michaela Keady, Lauren Anderson

First Varsity Four: Hannah Sherman (coxswain), Sarah Trovato, Lauren Himmel, Adena Coste, Andrea Johnson

Second Varsity Four: Kira Rosenbaum (coxswain, Ty Wellik, Hayley Yudelman, Abbey Thomas, Alyssa Owen

Third Varsity Four: Andi Cara (coxswain), Tara Foley, Alex Ohman, Allison Boss, Kathleen Duemling

First Novice Eight: Emma Knorps (coxswain), Reilly Jones (Stroke), Arielle Sanders, Halli Travers, Kelly Hilk, Terese Jenks, Emma Burke, Bridget Karsten, Nora Shepard

Second Novice Eight: Dani Cipinko (coxswain), Michelle Hill, Catherine Sprague-Manrow, Luna Archey, Maddie Shields, Alex Trecha, Emily Ritsema, Kayla Wiggin, Anna Anthony