Michigan Claims Team, 1V8, 2V8 Crowns at Big Ten Championships

May 13, 2012

Photo Gallery  | Coach Rothstein Interview (YouTube)

Site: Indianapolis, Ind. (Eagle Creek Park)
Event: Big Ten Championships
U-M Team Finish: 1st Place of Seven Teams (147 points)
Next U-M Event: Tuesday, May 15 -- NCAA Selection Show (NCAA.com), 5 p.m.

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. -- The University of Michigan women's rowing team (No. 5 CRCA/USRowing Coaches) found itself in third place in the standings heading into the final two races of the Big Ten Championships on Sunday (May 13) at Eagle Creek Park, but wins in the first and second varsity eight races earned the Wolverines a conference-best fifth Big Ten title. The championship marked the first league crown since 2004 for Michigan.

The Wolverines began the event with third-place finishes in both the first and second novice eight events before earning a second-place finish in the second varsity four and a third-place finish in the first varsity four. After four races, Michigan was looking up at Ohio State and Wisconsin in the championship standings, trailing the first-place Buckeyes by 13 points.

U-M then closed the gap by earning a near eight-second victory over Ohio State in the second varsity eight race. Michigan never trailed in the race, jumping out to the lead right out of the gate. By the 1,500-meter mark, the Wolverines had an open-water advantage, cruising to the win, which catapulted them into second place heading into the day's final event.

Michigan entered the first varsity eight race trailing the first-place Buckeyes by seven points. Much like the 2V8 boat, Michigan's top varsity crew rowed to an early lead and never relinquished it. By the 1,000-meter mark, Michigan had close to 10 feet of open water between its boat and second-place Ohio State. The Wolverines crossed the finish line with a time of 6:24.350, more than five seconds ahead of the Buckeyes.

The back-to-back varsity eight wins secured the title for Michigan and should secure a berth in the 2012 NCAA Championships, which take place May 25-27 in West Windsor, N.J. The 2012 NCAA women's rowing selection show will take place on Tuesday, May 15, at 5 p.m. and can be seen on NCAA.com.

Final Team Standings

1. MICHIGAN        147
2. Ohio State      145
3. Wisconsin       122
4. Michigan State   80
5. Minnesota        77
6. Indiana          44
7. Iowa             29

Sportsmanship Awards: Asja Zero (Indiana), Sarah Radke (Iowa), Kate Grimaldi (Michigan), Jocelyn Smith (Michigan State), Sara Baldvins (Minnesota), Katie King (Ohio State), Jane Roberts (Wisconsin)

All-Big Ten First Team: Asja Zero (Indiana), Annemarie Bernhard (Iowa), Julia Darnton (Michigan), Emily Eiffert (Michigan), Felice Mueller (Michigan), Amanda McGeachie (Michigan State), Molly Kalmore (Minnesota), Ulrike Denker (Ohio State), Emily Walsh (Ohio State), Vanessa Kleiss (Wisconsin)

All-Big Ten Second Team: Cara Donley (Indiana), Katy Kroll (Iowa), Lindsey Healy (Michigan), Melisa Ongun (Michigan), Michelle Neuder (Michigan State), Alyssa Haws (Minnesota), Claire-Louise Bode (Ohio State), Ilse Paulis (Ohio State), Kate Mansfield (Wisconsin), Amy Slesar (Wisconsin)


First Varsity Eight: Michigan (6:24.350), Ohio State (6:29.809), Wisconsin (6:33.939), Michigan State (6:34.201), Minnesota (6:39.881), Indiana (6:40.533), Iowa (6:47.587)

Second Varsity Eight: Michigan (6:26.826), Ohio State (6:32.025), Wisconsin (6:37.349), Minnesota (6:38.630), Michigan State (6:47.922), Iowa (6:49.184), Indiana (6:52.208)

First Varsity Four: Ohio State (7:01.815), Wisconsin (7:14.185), Michigan (7:16.530), Michigan State (7:20.210), Minnesota (7:20.724), Indiana (7:42.012), Iowa (7:42.757)

Second Varsity Four: Ohio State (7:12.916), Michigan (7:22.496), Wisconsin (7:27.082), Minnesota (7:29.483), Michigan State (7:37.489), Indiana (7:50.541), Iowa (8:04.831)

First Novice Eight: Ohio State (6:40.677), Wisconsin (6:46.278), Michigan (6:52.348), Indiana (6:53.786), Minnesota (7:01.986), Michigan State (7:06.852), Iowa (7:17.672)

Second Novice Eight: Wisconsin (6:45.559), Ohio State (6:49.145), Michigan (7:00.499), Michigan State (7:04.069), Minnesota (7:09.659), Indiana (7:10.599), Iowa (7:17.599)


First Varsity Eight: Colleen Macke (Coxswain), Melisa Ongun, Julia Darnton, Felice Mueller, Emily Eiffert, Jessica Eiffert, Bryna Oleshansky, Lindsey Healy, Shannon Stief

Second Varsity Eight: Kate Grimaldi (Coxswain), Ariel Piotter, Chrissy Holm, Priscilla Livingston, Emily Idoni, Cristina Felix, April Newberry, Paige Heil, Taylor Schubert

First Varsity Four: Breanne White (Coxswain), Nicole Dressler, Lauren Anderson, Olivia Klipa, Shannon Winchell

Second Varsity Four: Emily Bazilian (Coxswain), Rachael Minore, Hayley Yudelman, Tara Foley, Nikki Dahlberg-Seeth

First Novice Eight: Hannah Sherman (Coxswain), Taylor Wallen, Nicole Flyer, Alex Spaulding, Vickie Otto, Micki Johns, Allison Boss, Hayley Tanasijevich, Brittany Robinson

Second Novice Eight: Irene Kitromelides (Coxswain), Krista Roberts, Kathryn Abercrombie, Jenn Jarnot, Lauren Vespoli, Andie Haugen, Alyssa Weeks, Ellie Moeller, Lauren Himmle

Contact: Rob Tillotson (734) 763-4423