U-M Finishes Runner-Up, 2V4 Wins Title at Big Tens

May 19, 2013

Photo Gallery 

Site: Indianapolis, Ind. (Eagle Creek Park)
Event: Big Ten Championships
U-M Team Standing: 2nd Place of 7 Teams (135 points)
Next U-M Event: Thu-Sat., May 30-June 2 -- at NCAA Championships (Indianapolis, Ind.), 9 a.m.

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. -- The 13th-ranked University of Michigan women's rowing team finished second at the Big Ten Championships on Sunday (May 19) at Eagle Creek Park. The Wolverines registered 135 points in the competition to finish as the runner-up to the third-ranked Ohio State Buckeyes (160 points). U-M's 135 points were one better than third-place Wisconsin.

Michigan placed in the top three in each of the seven races, winning the 2V4 and competition, and finishing second in the 1V8, 3V4 and 2N8. The Wolverines placed third in the other three races (2V8, 1V4 and 1N8).

U-M inched closer to the lead with a second-place finish in the 3V4 race and actually grabbed its only lead of the day after winning the 2V4 competition with a time of 7:31.38 over runner-up Wisconsin (7:35.71). With 36 points, Michigan held a tenuous advantage over Wisconsin (35) and Ohio State (34) heading into the final three races.

A third-place finish in the 1V4 put Michigan (51 points) four points behind Ohio State (55) and two points behind Wisconsin (53) heading into the two varsity eight races. The Wolverines' 2V8 boat rowed to a third-place showing behind Ohio State and Wisconsin. The competition finished with the 1V8 race, where the Wolverines finished as the runner-up to the Big Ten champion Buckeyes.

U-M started the day with a runner-up finish in the 2N8 and then a third-place showing in the 1N8 race.

Fifth-year senior Melisa Ongun (Chicago, Ill./Lincoln Park) and senior Shannon Stief (Mukilteo, Wash./Kamiak) garnered a spot on the All-Big Ten first team, while senior Kate Grimaldi (Sammamish, Wash./Seattle Preparatory School) and junior Bryna Oleshansky (Knoxville, Tenn./Bearden) placed their names on the all-conference second team, and senior Colleen Macke (Ann Arbor, Mich./Pioneer) represented U-M as its Big Ten Sportsmanship honoree.

U-M will turn its attention to the 2013 NCAA Championships held at the same location as the Big Ten Championships. The competition will begin Thursday, May 30, and run through Sunday, June 2.

Final Team Standings

1. Ohio State      160
2. MICHIGAN        135
3. Wisconsin       134
4. Michigan State   85
5. Minnesota        72
6. Iowa             54
7. Indiana          28



First Varsity Eight: Ohio State (6:29.46), Michigan (6:39.84), Wisconsin (6:42.12), Michigan State (6:44.33), Minnesota (6:46.54), Iowa (6:51.50), Indiana (6:55.86)

Second Varsity Eight: Ohio State (6:31.41), Wisconsin (6:42.78), Michigan (6:47.46), Minnesota (6:49.08), Michigan State (6:55.78), Iowa (6:58.71), Indiana (7:00.96)

First Varsity Four: Ohio State (7:25.75), Wisconsin (7:30.90), Michigan (7:36.45), Michigan State (7:39.53), Iowa (7:45.95), Minnesota (7:49.89), Indiana (7:58.05)

Second Varsity Four: Michigan (7:31.38), Wisconsin (7:35.71), Ohio State (7:39.88), Iowa (7:52.28), Michigan State (8:03.12), Minnesota (8:04.99), Indiana (8:11.72)

Third Varsity Four: Ohio State (7:42.46), Michigan (7:48.97), Iowa (8:03.58), Wisconsin (8:08.07), Minnesota (8:15.97), Indiana (8:30.11)

First Novice Eight: Ohio State (7:06.90), Wisconsin (7:08.48), Michigan (7.10.22), Michigan State (7:14.46), Indiana (7:15.91), Minnesota (7:20.33), Iowa (7:51.72)

Second Novice Eight: Wisconsin (7:13.07), Michigan (7:17.51), Michigan State (7:22.64), Minnesota (7:24.01), Ohio State (7:35.43)



First Varsity Eight: Kate Grimaldi, Melisa Ongun, Chrissy Holm, Bryna Oleshansky, Jessica Eiffert, Emily Idoni, Taylor Schubert, Priscilla Livingston, Shannon Stief

Second Varsity Eight: Colleen Macke, Carrie Lofgren, Emily Sullenberger, Hannah Moscati, Shannon Winchell, Alex Spaulding, Nicole Flyer, Michaela Keady, Lauren Anderson

First Varsity Four: Hannah Sherman, Andrea Johnson, Hayley Yudelman, Alex Ohman, Alyssa Owen

Second Varsity Four: Kira Rosenbaum, Sarah Trovato, Adena Coste, Allison Boss, Tara Foley

Third Varsity Four: Andrea Cara, Kathleen Duemling, Abbey Thomas, Lauren Himmel, Madeline Dibble

First Novice Eight: Emma Knorps, Ty Wellik, Halli Travers, Arielle Sanders, Alex Trecha, Nora Shepard, Terese Jenks, Kelly Hilk, Sarah Chen

Second Novice Eight: Dani Cipinko, Reilley Jones, Maddie Shields, Emma Burke, Hannah Graham, Michele Hill, Catherine Sprague-Manrow, Bridget Karsten, Anna Anthony



First Team
Madelyn Shields, Indiana
Katy Kroll, Iowa
Melisa Ongun, Michigan
Shannon Stief, Michigan

Katie Cromic, Michigan State
Cassie Drozynski, Minnesota
Claire-Louise Bode, Ohio State
Allison Eber, Ohio State
Rixt Medima, Ohio State
Kendall Schmidt, Wisconsin

Second Team
Asja Zero, Indiana
Laura Hallman, Iowa
Kate Grimaldi, Michigan
Bryna Oleshansky, Michigan

Nora Hannum, Michigan State
Christine Beauparlant, Minnesota
Corrine Meinert, Ohio State
Holly Norton, Ohio State
Amy Slesar, Wisconsin
Monica Whitehouse, Wisconsin

Sportsmanship Award Honorees
Olivia Gugliemotto, Indiana
Louise Bensz, Iowa
Colleen Macke, Michigan
Laura Moore, Michigan State
Sarah Sobek, Minnesota
Chloe Meyer, Ohio State
Melanie Moranski, Wisconsin