Wolverines Finish 16th in Head of the Charles Regatta

Oct. 22, 2012

Site: Cambridge, Mass. (Charles River)
Event: Head of the Charles
First Varsity Eight Finish: 16th Place of 40 Teams (17:29.89)
Next U-M Event: Sunday, Oct. 28 -- at Michigan State - novice only (East Lansing, Mich.), 10 a.m.

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. -- The University of Michigan women's rowing team competed in the prestigious Head of the Charles Regatta on Sunday (Oct. 21), rowing to a 16th-place finish among the 40-crew field on Charles River. The Wolverines raced in the women's championship eight event at the regatta, which is one of the largest annual regattas held in North America.

Michigan crossed the finish line with a time of 17:29.89, 1:16.40 behind the first-place USRowing boat. The Wolverines faced high-level competition in the race, with national teams from the United States, Canada and the Netherlands all participating. In addition, a "Great 8" crew was assembled, pitting the eight best scullers from around the world in one single boat together.

The Wolverines eight consisted of Melisa Ongun (Chicago, Ill./Lincoln Park), Shannon Stief (Mukilteo, Wash./Kamiak), Bryna Oleshanski (Knoxville, Tenn./Bearden), Jessica Eiffert (Honeoye Falls, N.Y./Honeoye Falls-Lima), Carrie Lofgren (Northbrook, Ill./Loyola Academy), Chrissy Holm (North Oaks, Minn./Hill-Murray), Priscilla Livingston (Wellesley, Mass./Wellesley) and Taylor Schubert (Saugus, Calif./Saugus). Colleen Macke (Ann Arbor, Mich./Pioneer) served as the coxswain.

In addition to the women's championship eight crew, Michigan also fielded an alumni eight boat for the regatta. U-M's alumni crew raced from the 34th position at launch to win the race, marking the first time in 48 years that a crew has accomplished that feat at the Head of the Charles. The Wolverines finished with a time of 16:24.13, which was good for a 57-second victory over the second-place Virginia boat.

The Michigan alumni eight was made up by coxswain Laura Dunn (2009), Brett Sickler (2005), Ellen Tomek (2006), Stesha Carle (2006), Sarah Trowbridge (2005), Cristin McCarty (2006), Emily Shea (2007), Elizabeth Godek (2005) and Julia Darnton (2012).

U-M continues its fall competition with a novice only event at Michigan State on Sunday (Oct. 28) at 10 a.m. The fall season concludes on Friday, Nov. 2, with the Belleville Classic -- an exhibition against the Michigan men's club team.

Contact: Rob Tillotson (734) 763-4423