Michigan to Make Rare West Coast Trip for Oregon State Classic

April 3, 2014

Saturday, April 5 -- at Oregon State Classic (Dexter Lake, Ore.), 9 a.m. PDT

The ninth-ranked University of Michigan rowing team continues the spring season this Saturday (April 5) with a rare West Coast trip as the Wolverines will participate in the Oregon State Classic along with four other top collegiate rowing crews. Coming off their first racing of the spring season last weekend against top-ranked Ohio State, the Wolverines will participate in one of the largest regattas of the season.

"I thought the team did a great job preparing and had a great attitude last week, but I didn't think we raced as well as we're capable of," Michigan head coach Mark Rothstein said. "There were some definite bright spots, but I think we need to get faster."

Four of the five schools in the competition are ranked in the latest CRCA/USRowing Coaches Poll, including Michigan, No. 2 Ohio State, No. 11 Stanford and No. 20 Oregon State joining Duke to complete the field.

"When we schedule we're always looking to get quality out of conference competition," Rothstein said. "Certainly Stanford, Oregon State, and Duke are strong programs so that was very appealing. This will be a good challenge for us."

The races will be held at Dexter Lake beginning at 9 a.m. PDT.

SCHEDULE OF EVENTS (all Pacific Standard Time)

Morning Session
9 a.m. -- Second Varsity Four (Michigan, Oregon State, Ohio State)
9:15 a.m. -- First Varsity Four (Duke, Oregon State)
9:30 a.m. -- First Varsity Four (Stanford, Michigan, Ohio State)
9:45 a.m. -- Second Varsity Eight (Oregon State, Duke)
10 a.m. -- Second Varsity Eight (Ohio State, Michigan, Stanford)
10:15 a.m. -- First Varsity Eight (Oregon State, Duke)
10:30 a.m. -- First Varsity Eight (Michigan, Stanford, Ohio State)

Afternoon Session
2 p.m. -- Second Varsity Four (Oregon State, Michigan, Ohio State)
2:15 p.m. -- First Varsity Four (All Teams)
2:30 p.m. -- Second Varsity Eight (All Teams)
2:45 p.m. -- First Varsity Eight (All Teams)


1V8: Hannah Sherman (Coxswain), Tara Foley, Bryna Oleshansky, Amanda Elmore, Chrissy Holm, Emily Idoni, Sam Heron, Alex Spaulding , Shannon Winchell

2V8: Francesca Derteano (Coxswain), Carrie Lofgren, Taylor Schubert, Arielle Sanders, Abbey Thomas, Laura Foster, Lexie Beemer, Sarah Trovato, Emily Sullenberger

1V4: Emma Knorps (Coxswain), Kaitlin Wright, Karla McDaniel, Priscilla Livingston, Sarah Hudnall

2V4: Sierra Lash (Coxswain), Michaela Keady, Ty Wellik, Hannah Moscati, Emma Burke


• U-M is making its first regular-season trip to the West Coast since competing in the San Diego Crew Classic April 4-5, 2009.

• Michigan competed against crews from Duke and Oregon State at last season's Clemson Invitational on April 20, 2013. Michigan finished ahead of boats from both schools in the 1V8, 2V8, 1V4, 2V4 and 1N8 races during the afternoon session.

• The Wolverines are coming off wins in the 1V4 and 3V4 as well as the 1N8 and 2N8 races against top-ranked Ohio State last Saturday (March 29) at the Griggs Reservoir on the Scioto River.

• Michigan's winning 1V4 crew is slated to remain the same as last weekend. Sam Heron and Alex Spaulding will join the 1V8 crew, while Sarah Trovato and Emily Sullenberger will join the 2V8 crew, and Ty Wellik, Michaela Keady and Emma Burke will join the 2V4 crew.

• U-M has placed in the top two at the Big Ten Championships in 10 of 14 years that the conference rowing meet has been held. Michigan has claimed five Big Ten team titles (2000, 2001, 2003, 2004 and 2012).

• Head coach Mark Rothstein is in his 18th season at the helm of the women's varsity rowing program. Rothstein's teams have finished in the top five of the NCAA Championships a total of eight times, including two runner-up finishes (2001, '12).

• Senior port/starboard Bryna Oleshansky earned All-Big Ten second team honors last year and will lead Michigan's first varsity eight along with junior port/starboard Jessica Eiffert. Michigan's lone returning All-American (second team), Eiffert also earned Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association All-Region first-team honors in 2013.