U-M to Play Host to Minnesota, Wisconsin in Conference Double Dual

April 10, 2014

Saturday, April 12 -- Big Ten Double Dual (Belleville Lake)

The 10th-ranked University of Michigan rowing team will co-host its first event of the spring season on Saturday (April 12) at Belleville Lake with a Big Ten Double Dual featuring Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota and No. 15 Wisconsin.

Michigan last took on Wisconsin and Minnesota in a regular season event on April 9, 2011, in a Big Ten Double Dual at Michigan State. The Wolverines swept the Gophers in the morning session and earned wins in the 1V4 and 2N8 in the afternoon session against Wisconsin.

Due to icing on the Grand River, Michigan State's home venue, a mutual decision was made by both coaching staffs to move the event to Belleville Lake.

SCHEDULE OF EVENTS (Michigan Races Only)

9 a.m. -- Second Novice Eight
9:24 a.m. -- First Novice Eight
9:48 a.m. -- Third Varsity Four
10 a.m. -- Michigan 4V4 vs. Wisconsin 3V4
10:12 a.m. -- Second Varsity Four
10:36 a.m. -- First Varsity Four
11 a.m. -- Second Varsity Eight
11:24 a.m. -- First Varsity Eight

1:12 p.m. -- Second Novice Eight
1:36 p.m. -- First Novice Eight
2 p.m. -- Michigan 4V4 vs. Minnesota 3V4
2:24 p.m. -- Second Varsity Four
2:48 p.m. -- First Varsity Four
3:12 p.m. -- Second Varsity Eight
3:36 p.m. -- First Varsity Eight

1V8 - Hannah Sherman (coxswain), Amanda Elmore, Chrissy Holm, Jessica Eiffert, Bryna Oleshansky, Tara Foley, Emily Idoni, Shannon Winchell, Louisa Freeman

2V8 - Francesca Derteano (coxswain), Carrie Lofgren, Emily Sullenberger, Alex Spaulding, Taylor Schubert, Arielle Sanders, Sam Heron, Michaela Keady, Ty Wellik

1V4 - Emma Knorps (coxswain), Kaitlin Wright, Karla McDaniel, Priscilla Livingston, Sarah Hudnall

2V4 - Sierra Lash (coxswain), Sarah Trovato, Emma Burke, Hannah Moscati, Abbey Thomas

3V4 - Destiny Mack (coxswain), Madeline Dibble, Adena Coste, Andrea Johnson, Kathleen Duemling

4V4 - Rosemary Kelley (coxswain), Alyssa Owen, Allison Boss, Ally Futterman, Meghan Ferris
1N8 - Sierra Bain (coxswain), Laura Foster, Kara Puidokas, Johanna Buschaus, Lexie Beemer, Jordan Scott, Panter, Emily Butte, Susie Stevens

2N8 - Anna Rode (coxswain), Mallory Jamett, Laura Zeiler, Lauren Gilbert, Kelsi Harden, Gabrielle Lantis, Madison Mottlowitz, Kinsey Vear, Amanda Chamberlain

• The Wolverines will host their first event of the spring season this weekend after traveling to Oregon State and Ohio State over the past two weekends to start the year.

• Michigan's projected 1V4 crew -- Emma Knorps (Coxswain), Kaitlin Wright, Karla McDaniel, Priscilla Livingston and Sarah Hudnall -- has earned victories in each of the last two events, recording its best time of the season (7:17.6) last weekend at the Oregon State Classic.

• Junior Jessica Eiffert and freshman Louisa Freeman return to the 1V8 roster for this weekend. Both were on the 1V8 boat in the spring season opener on March 29 against Ohio State. Michigan's 1V8 boat has the same projected lineup as it did that weekend.

• Michigan's 2V8 crew will feature senior Michaela Keady and sophomore Ty Wellik for the first time in the spring season. Keady and Wellik have been on the 3V4 and 2V4 crews in the first two races this season.

• Senior Abbey Thomas will race with the 2V4 crew for the first time this season after racing on the 2V8 crews for the first two races this season.

• U-M has placed in the top two at the Big Ten Championships in 10 of 14 years that the conference rowing meet has been held. Michigan has claimed five Big Ten team titles (2000, 2001, 2003, 2004 and 2012).

• Head coach Mark Rothstein is in his 18th season at the helm of the women's varsity rowing program. Rothstein's teams have finished in the top five of the NCAA Championships a total of eight times, including two runner-up finishes (2001, '12).

• Senior Bryna Oleshansky earned All-Big Ten second team honors last year and will lead Michigan's first varsity eight along with junior Jessica Eiffert. Michigan's lone returning All-American (second team), Eiffert also earned Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association All-Region first team honors in 2013.

Contact: Jeffrey Weinstein (734) 763-4423