Four Wolverine Rowers Collect All-Big Ten Honors

May 20, 2013

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. -- The Big Ten Conference Office announced the All-Big Ten Rowing Teams after the conclusion of today's 2013 conference rowing championships, with four Wolverines collecting recognition. U-M had a pair of rowers make both the first and second teams and trailed only Ohio State with five student-athletes receiving recognition.

The Wolverines were led by senior port Melisa Ongun (Chicago, Ill./Lincoln Park HS) and senior starboard Shannon Stief (Mikulteo, Wash./Kamiak HS) as first-team All-Big Ten honorees. Ongun earned All-Big Ten first team honors this season after collecting second-team accolades last season. Stief earned Big Ten honors for the first time in her career.

Senior coxswain Kate Grimaldi (Sammamish, Wash./Seattle Preparatory School) and junior port/starboard Bryna Oleshansky (Knoxville, Tenn./Bearden HS) were named to the all-conference second team. The team's Big Ten Sportsmanship Award recipient last year, Grimaldi directed the 1V8 boat at the conference tournament after leading the 2V8 to the national title last year. Both Grimaldi and Oleshansky earned all-conference honors for the first time in their careers.

Senior coxswain Colleen Macke (Ann Arbor, Mich./Pioneer HS) was named the team's Big Ten Sportsmanship Award recipient for 2013. Macke, who directed the 2V8 at the conference tournament, was a Pocock All-American second team selection last season.

The Wolverines await selection of the 2013 NCAA Championship field.

Following are the All-Big Ten teams and the Sportsmanship Award recipients:


First Team
Madelyn Shields, Indiana
Katy Kroll, Iowa
Melisa Ongun, Michigan
Shannon Stief, Michigan
Katie Cromic, Michigan State
Cassie Drozynski, Minnesota
Claire-Louise Bode, Ohio State
Allison Eber, Ohio State
Rixt Medima, Ohio State
Kendall Schmidt, Wisconsin

Second Team
Asja Zero, Indiana
Laura Hallman, Iowa
Kate Grimaldi, Michigan
Bryna Oleshansky, Michigan
Nora Hannum, Michigan State
Christine Beauparlant, Minnesota
Corrine Meinert, Ohio State
Holly Norton, Ohio State
Amy Slesar, Wisconsin
Monica Whitehouse, Wisconsin

Olivia Gugliemotto, Indiana
Louise Bensz, Iowa
Colleen Macke, Michigan
Laura Moore, Michigan State
Sarah Sobek, Minnesota
Chloe Meyer, Ohio State
Melanie Moranski, Wisconsin

Media Contact: David Ablauf (734) 763-4423