Eiffert, Elmore, Oleshansky Named Pocock All-Americans

June 9, 2014

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- Three members of the University of Michigan rowing team have been selected to Pocock All-America teams as announced by the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA). Junior port/starboard Jessica Eiffert (Honeoye Falls, N.Y./Honeoye Falls-Lima) and senior port/starboard Bryna Oleshansky (Knoxville, Tenn./Bearden) earned Pocock All-America first team honors, while graduate student port Amanda Elmore (West Lafayette, Ind./Harrison) earned second team honors.

All three rowers were part of Michigan's first varsity eight boat this past season, helping the Wolverines to an eighth-place finish at the NCAA Championships. The Wolverines 1V8 crew finished in fifth place in the NCAA grand final, returning to the final race of the NCAA Championships for the first time since 2012. Michigan finished in second place at the Big Ten Championships, with the 1V8 crew earning a silver medal.

Eiffert was Michigan's lone returning All-America selection this season, earning second-team recognition in 2013. Oleshansky and Eiffert earned CRCA Central first team honors, while Elmore earned second-team honors before the 2014 NCAA Championships. Elmore and Oleshansky also earned 2014 All-Big Ten first team recognition, while Eiffert was an all-conference second team selection.

The CRCA awards All-America selection to rowers and coxswains for outstanding performances during the season and at the NCAA Championships. A student-athlete must have received all-region honors in one of the five regions across the country to be eligible for All-America consideration. In addition, rowers and coxswains are evaluated on the strength of their team's finish in the varsity eight at the national championship, coaches' recommendations and 2,000-meter erg score. Nominees must be eligible student-athletes who have competed in their team's varsity boat in 75 percent of the races during the spring season.


First Team
Claire-Louise Bode, The Ohio State University
Erin Boxberger, University of Notre Dame
Louise Breen, Brown University
Maddie Cordner, University of Washington
Anna Dawson, Stanford University
Mera Dickensheets, Indiana University
Jessica Eiffert, University of Michigan
Kirstyn Goodger, University of Washington
Angie Gould, Princeton University
Jenna Gregoire, Harvard University
Krisztina Gyimes, University of Southern California
Brandy Herald, University of Virginia
Paparangi Hipango, University of California, Berkeley
Kara Kohler, University of California, Berkeley
Victoria Lazur, The Ohio State University, coxswain
Daphne Martschenko, Stanford University
Holly Norton, The Ohio State University
Bryna Oleshansky, University of Michigan
Kelsey Reelick, Princeton University
Catherine Shields, The Ohio State University
Muriel Solberg, Brown University
Meaghan Volker, University of California, Los Angeles

Second Team
Katherine Ashton, US Naval Academy
Ashley Bauer, The Ohio State University
Molly Bruggeman, University of Notre Dame
Michelle Campbell, University of San Diego
Maryann Concannon, Saint Mary's College of California
Constanze Duell, University of Virginia
Morgan Dunham, University of Louisville
Amanda Elmore, University of Michigan
Rachel Gottlieb, Brown University
Morgan Grastorf, University of Iowa
Georgia Hamilton, Syracuse University
Nicole Hare, Washington State University
Milena Heuer, Clemson University
Aggie Nowinski, University of California, Berkeley
Anne Rauschert, University of Wisconsin
Faith Richardson, Princeton University
Kate Roach, Cornell University
Mary Sandza, Brown University, coxswain
Anna Taylor, Oregon State University
Claire Tolson, Yale University
Kristy Wentzel, Stanford University
Ruth Whyman, University of Washington