Ongun, Eiffert Tabbed to Pocock All-America Teams
Melisa Ongun (left) and Jessica Eiffert

June 11, 2013

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- Senior Melisa Ongun (Chicago, Ill./Lincoln Park) and sophomore Jessica Eiffert (Honeoye Falls, N.Y./Honeoye Falls-Lima) of the University of Michigan rowing team were named Pocock All-Americans announced Monday (June 10) by the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA). Ongun received All-America first team accolades, while Eiffert earned second-team honors.

Ongun and Eiffert collected CRCA All-Region first team prior to the NCAA Championships. Ongun also received selection to the All-Big Ten first team this season after being named to the second team last season. Eiffert was the Big Ten's Freshman of the Year in 2012.

The CRCA awards All-America selection to rowers and coxswains for outstanding performances during the season and at the NCAA Championships. A student-athlete must have received all-region honors in one of the five regions across the country to be eligible for All-America consideration. In addition, rowers and coxswains are evaluated on the strength of their team's finish in the varsity eight at the national championship, coaches' recommendations and 2,000-meter erg score. Nominees must be eligible student-athletes who have competed in their team's varsity boat in 75 percent of the races during the spring season.


First Team
Leva Adomaviciute, Washington State University
Katherine Ashton, United States Naval Academy
Claire-Louise Bose, The Ohio State University
Louise Breen, Brown University
Molly Bruggeman, University of Notre Dame
Courtney Diekema, Harvard University
Allison Elber, The Ohio State University
Molly Hamrick, Princeton University
Natalie King, Yale University
Kara Kohler, University of California
Natalie Mastracci, Syracuse University
Lindsay Meyer, Stanford University
Vineta Moca, University of Southern California
Agatha Nowinski, University of California
Kristine O'Brien, University of Virginia
Melisa Ongun, University of Michigan
Heidi Robbins, Princeton University
Kate Roach, Cornell University
Britta Syverson, University of California, Los Angeles
Samantha Warren, Columbia University
Rachel Ersted, University of California, coxswain
  Second Team
Leigh Archer, Cornell University
Laura Basadonna, Clemson University
Christina Bax, Stanford University
Erin Boxberger, University of Notre Dame
Kate Capistran, University of Rhode Island
Michelle Campbell, University of San Diego
Gabby Cole, Princeton University
Maryann Concannon, Saint Mary's College of California
Sarah Cowburn, University of Virginia
Jessica Eiffert, University of Michigan
Tessa Gobbo, Brown University
Susanne Grainger, University of Virginia
Jenna Gregoire, Harvard University
Krisztina Gyimes, University of Southern California
Eliza Hastings, Yale University
Paparangi Hipango, University of California
Katy Kroll, University of Iowa
Rixt Miedema, The Ohio State University
Emily Theys, Duke University
Meaghan Volker, University of California, Los Angeles
Annie Prasad, Princeton University, coxswain

Media Contact: David Ablauf (734) 763-4423