Hein Named One of Ten Finalists for 2013 Senior CLASS Award
Holly Hein

Oct. 16, 2013

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. -- Fifth-year senior Holly Hein (Castaic, Calif./West Ranch) of the No. 12-ranked University of Michigan women's soccer team was announced on Wednesday (Oct. 16) as one of ten national finalists for the 2013 Senior CLASS Award for Women's Soccer, presented annually to an NCAA Division I senior student-athlete that has notable achievements in four areas of excellence -- community, classroom, character and competition.

The finalists were chosen by a media committee from the list of 30 men's candidates and 30 women's candidates announced in August. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner. Fans are encouraged to vote on the Senior CLASS Award website through November 25. Fan votes will be combined with media and Division I head coaches' votes to determine the winner. The Senior CLASS Award winners will be announced during the 2013 NCAA Men's and Women's College Cup® championships in December.

Since the start of last season, Hein has been a mainstay on Michigan's defense, starting the team's last 37 matches at center back and helping the back line pitch 18 total shutouts during that same span. Last season, Hein was named an All-Big Ten (first team) and NSCAA All-Great Lakes Region (second team) pick. She has started all 13 matches this season, scoring one goal and tallying one assist. She is also a two-time team captain. Hein will graduate in December with a degree in screen arts and cultures.

The other finalists are goalkeeper Aubrey Bledsoe (Wake Forest), midfielder Vanessa DiBernardo (Illinois), forward Jonelle Filigno (Rutgers), forward Kristen Hamilton (Denver), forward Maya Hayes (Penn State), goalkeeper Elizabeth Hoerner (Navy), defender Kassey Kallman (Florida State), forward Kealia Ohai (North Carolina) and midfielder Anna Stinson (Illinois State).

VOTE | Official Release | Profile

Contact: Brad Rudner (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about Michigan women's soccer and group ticket opportunities for the 2016 season.