Five Wolverines Garner All-Big Ten Honors on Eve of Tourney

Nov. 5, 2013

ROSEMONT, Ill. -- On the eve of the Big Ten Tournament, five members of the No. 7-ranked University of Michigan women's soccer team received All-Big Ten honors on Tuesday (Nov. 5), highlighted by a quartet of first team selections. All four senior captains were named All-Big Ten first teamers, including forward Nkem Ezurike (Lower Sackville, Nova Scotia/Sackville), midfielder Meghan Toohey (Philadelphia, Pa./Phil-Mont Christian) and defenders Holly Hein (Castaic, Calif./West Ranch) and Shelina Zadorsky (London, Ontario/St. Thomas Aquinas). Additionally, midfield/forward Madisson Lewis (Canton, Mich./Plymouth) was named to the All-Big Ten Freshman Team.

The Wolverines have placed four players on the first team in back-to-back seasons and for only the third time in program history (others: 2012, 1999). Ezurike, Hein and Zadorsky are the first players to be named to the first team in back-to-back years since Abby Crumpton (2001-02) and Amy Sullivant (2000-02). With Lewis' inclusion on the All-Freshman Team, Michigan has had at least one representative on that team in 10 of the last 12 years.

The four seniors have started all 18 matches this season. Ezurike is only the third player in program history to be named All-Big Ten four times, joining Crumpton (first team in 1999, 2001 and 2002; second team in 2000) and Mari Hoff (second team from 1996-99). She is Michigan's leader in shots (83), points (31), goals (11) and assists (nine). She became the program's career leader in goals earlier this season (currently has 46) and is six points away from breaking Crumpton's career points record of 116 (currently has 111).

Toohey was elevated to the first team this year after making the second team in 2012 and the All-Big Ten Freshman Team in 2010. She has three goals and three assists this season and has started every match she has played in during her four-year collegiate career (73/73).

Hein and Zadorsky have been the leaders of the Michigan defense, which ranks among the top 10 nationally in both goals-against average (0.49) and save percentage (.880). The defense with freshman goalkeeper Taylor Bucklin (Greenwich, Conn./Brookfield) ranks first in the Big Ten in fewest goals allowed (nine), goals-against average and shutouts (nine). Hein and Zadorsky have combined for three goals and nine assists on the offensive end. Zadorsky's eight helpers are tied for fifth best in the Big Ten.

Lewis was one of three unanimous selections to the All-Big Ten Freshman Team. She ranks second on the team in goals (five) and points (17) and is third in assists (seven) while starting 13 of 18 matches this season.

Lastly, junior Chloe Sosenko (South Lyon, Mich./Brighton) was named as the team's representative for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award. She has started 17 of 18 matches this season on defense.

2013 Big Ten Women's Soccer Awards & All-Big Ten Teams

Coach of the Year: JOHN WALKER, Nebraska
Forward of the Year: Janelle Flaws, Illinois
Midfielder of the Year: Jordan Jackson, Nebraska
Defender of the Year: Ari Romero, Nebraska
Goalkeeper of the Year: Tarah Hobbs, Minnesota
Freshman of the Year: Rose Lavelle, Wisconsin

Position First Team Second Team
Forward JANELLE FLAWS, Illinois Cloe Lacasse, Iowa
  Nkem Ezurike, Michigan Jaycie Johnson, Nebraska
  Maya Hayes, Penn State Nichelle Prince, Ohio State
Midfield Meghan Toohey, Michigan Lisa Nouanesengsy, Indiana
  Jordan Jackson, Nebraska Taylor Schram, Penn State
  Mallory Weber, Penn State Kinley McNicoll, Wisconsin
  Rose Lavelle, Wisconsin  
Defense Holly Hein, Michigan Melanie Pickert, Iowa
  Shelina Zadorsky, Michigan Mary Kathryn Fiebernitz, Michigan State
  ARI ROMERO, Nebraska Megan Fuller, Ohio State
    Whitney Church, Penn State
Goalkeeper Tarah Hobbs, Minnesota Emma Stevens, Nebraska

All-Big Ten Freshman Team*

Position First Team
Forward MADISSON LEWIS, Michigan
  Nichelle Prince, Ohio State
Midfield Veronica Ellis, Indiana
  Josee Stiever, Minnesota
  Sydney Miramontez, Nebraska
  Alexis Degler, Ohio State
  ROSE LAVELLE, Wisconsin
Defense Amanda Lulek, Iowa
  Brittany Basinger, Penn State
  Kylie Schwarz, Wisconsin
Goalkeeper Tarah Hobbs, Minnesota

* Additional honorees due to tie
Unanimous selections in ALL CAPS

Sportsmanship Award Honorees
Kristen Gierman, Illinois
Rebecca Dreher, Indiana
Alex Melin, Iowa
Chloe Sosenko, Michigan
Kelsey Mullen, Michigan State
Steph Brandt, Minnesota
Hannah Dittmar, Nebraska
Kate Allen, Northwestern
Ellyn Gruber, Ohio State
Tani Costa, Penn State
Hadley Stuart, Purdue
Marisa Kresge, Wisconsin

Contact: Brad Rudner (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about Michigan women's soccer and group ticket opportunities for the 2016 season.