Taylor Named to USA Softball Player of the Year Watch List

April 7, 2010

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. -- University of Michigan softball junior RHP Jordan Taylor (Valencia, Calif./Valencia HS) was named as one of 25 finalists for the 2010 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year award on Wednesday (April 7) by the Amateur Softball Association. It is the second time in Taylor's career to make the top-25 finalists' list; she was named a top 10-finalist for the award as a freshman in 2008.

The top-25 list represents 20 schools and seven different NCAA Division I conferences. The list is comprised of 10 seniors, seven juniors, one sophomore and seven freshmen. The 2010 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year will be chosen from the 25 finalists.

The list of finalists will be trimmed to 10 on May 12. The final cut -- to three players -- will occur on May 26 following NCAA Regional action. The trio will travel to Oklahoma City, Okla., where the winner will be announced as part of the 2010 NCAA Women's College World Series Party at the Park on June 2. A replica of the award will be placed in a permanent display in the ASA National Softball Hall of Fame in Oklahoma City, along with photos of the winner.

One of 10 pitchers to make the top-25 cut, Taylor has returned to familiar form in her junior campaign, leading the Wolverines with a 14-2 record, 1.17 earned-run average, 173 strikeouts and four complete-game shutouts. She owns nine double-digit strikeout efforts this season, including a career-high 18 -- one shy of Michigan's single-game strikeout record -- against perennial power UCLA on Feb. 14. She tossed a complete-game no-hitter against Oklahoma State in her next start on Feb. 19 and recorded a complete-game one-hitter against No. 2-ranked Arizona on March 18.

The USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year is now in its ninth year of existence, with previous winners including former Olympians Stacey Nuveman (UCLA, 2002) and Cat Osterman (Texas, 2003, '05, '06) and Jessica van der Linden (Florida State, 2004), and Monica Abbott (Tennessee, 2007), Angela Tincher (Virginia Tech, 2008) and Danielle Lawrie (Washington, 2009).

Contact: Leah Howard (734) 763-4423

Sign up for Michigan Insider to be the first to learn about 2018 Michigan softball ticket opportunities.