Betsa Tabbed a Top 25 Finalist for NFCA Freshman of the Year Award
Megan Betsa

April 17, 2014

LOUISVILLE, Ky. -- Freshman pitcher Megan Betsa (McDonough, Ga./Union Grove) of the No. 3-ranked University of Michigan softball team is one of 25 finalists for the inaugural NFCA Division I National Freshman of the Year award as announced Thursday (April 17) by the National Fastpitch Coaches Association.

Betsa joins 25 other rookie standouts from across the nation as contenders for the honor, and is one of two players from the Big Ten Conference.

Through 40 games, Betsa is 10-3 with an earned run average of 1.84, which is third lowest in the Big Ten. The righty is striking out better than a hitter per inning, with 93 K's in 72.1 innings. Opponents are batting just .185 across Betsa. She has tossed four shutouts and seven complete games in her 14 starts.

The freshman beat then-No. 23 South Florida 3-2 in the second game of the season (Feb. 8). She tossed the 38th no-hitter in U-M history when she shut down the Detroit Titans in a five-inning run-rule decision on April 2. Twice this season she has been honored as the Big Ten Freshman of the Week (Feb. 18, Feb. 24).

On May 8, the list will be trimmed down to the top 10 finalists, while the top three finalists will be selected and released on May 22. The inaugural NFCA Division I National Freshman of the Year trophy will be presented during a live ceremony on May 27 prior to the opening of the annual Women's College World Series in Oklahoma City, Okla.

Top 25 Finalists for Division I National Freshman of the Year
Ali Aguilar, Washington
Annie Aldrete, Tennessee
Maryssa Becker, Louisville
Megan Betsa, Michigan
Nickie Blue, South Carolina
Jessica Burroughs, Florida State
Kristen Clark, UCSB
Kasey Cooper, Auburn
Baylee Corbello, LSU
Tiarra Davis, Texas
Tori Finucane, Missouri
Hannah Flippen, Utah
Taylor Glover, Cal State Northridge
Chelsea Gonzales, Arizona State
Sara Groenewegen, Minnesota
Haley Hayden, Louisiana-Lafayette
Sierra Hyland, Cal Poly
Milly Martinet, Campbell
Katiyana Mauga, Arizona
Jill Roye, Tulsa
Caroline Seitz, Mississippi State
Lexi Shubert, USC Upstate
Kylie Sorenson, Stanford
Delaney Spaulding, UCLA
Karley Wester, Notre Dame

Contact: Michael Kasiborski

Sign up for Michigan Insider to be the first to learn about 2018 Michigan softball ticket opportunities.