Romero Among 10 Finalists for College Player of the Year
Sierra Romero

May 8, 2014

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. -- Sophomore Sierra Romero (Murrieta, Calif./Vista Murrieta) of the No. 10-ranked University of Michigan softball team is one of ten finalists for the USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year award, as announced by USA Softball.

Romero is the only Big Ten representative on the list, and one of three sophomores. This is the second season in a row she has been included among the top-10 finalists.

Romero recently won her second consecutive Big Ten Player of the Year award (May 7), and was a unanimous choice for the All-Big Ten first team.

The sophomore slugger is leading the nation in hitting at .511, and her on-base percentage of .641 is also tops in the country. She has three other marks in the top five nationally: 1.25 runs per game (second); 1.04 walks per game (third); and she is slugging .927 (fifth).

Noted for her range in the field, she has cut down on errors significantly in 2014. She has committed only 11, compared to 20 through 51 games in 2013. Michigan has the fifth-best fielding percentage in the nation (.977).

During Big Ten play, the shortstop led the conference in hitting (.516), slugging percentage (.968), on-base percentage (.663), runs scored (32) and walks (27). She finished tied for third with seven home runs and fourth in total bases (60). Romero reached base in all 23 Big Ten games, and put together a 10-game hitting streak in the final two weeks of league play.

Romero helped Michigan win its seventh consecutive Big Ten title in 2014. She was also recently invited to try out for the national softball team this summer by USA Softball.

The top three finalists for Player of the Year will be announced on May 21, with the winner of the 2014 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year award revealed on May 27. The USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year award is voted on by coaching representatives from 11 Division I conferences in the 15 ASA regions as well as members of the media who consistently cover Division I softball across the country, and previous Player of the Year recipients.

The Wolverines will open up play in the Big Ten Tournament on Friday (May 9) as the No. 1 overall seed in Evanston, Ill. U-M will play either Iowa or Illinois at the Sharon J. Drysdale Field beginning at 4:30 p.m. CDT.

Top 10 Player of the Year Finalists
Ally Carda, Pitcher, UCLA
Courtney Ceo, Infield, Oregon
Dallas Escobedo, Pitcher, Arizona State
Cheridan Hawkins, Pitcher, Oregon
Haylie McCleney, Outfield, Alabama
Maddie O'Brien, Infield, Florida State
Sierra Romero, Infield, Michigan
Madison Shipman, Infield, Tennessee
Jaclyn Traina, Pitcher, Alabama
Lacey Waldrop, Pitcher, Florida State

Romero Player of the Year Award Leads U-M's Seven All-B1G Honorees

Contact: Michael Kasiborski

Sign up for Michigan Insider to be the first to learn about 2018 Michigan softball ticket opportunities.