Romero Named a Honda Sports Award Nominee
Sierra Romero

June 3, 2014

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- THE Collegiate Women Sports Awards (CWSA) announced Monday (June 2) that sophomore Sierra Romero (Murrieta, Calif./Vista Murrieta) of the University of Michigan softball team is one of four nominees for the Honda Sports Award in softball.

The Honda Sports Award is presented annually by the CWSA to the top women athletes in 12-NCAA sanctioned sports and signifies "the best of the best in collegiate athletics." The winner of the sport award becomes a finalist for the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year and the prestigious 2014 Honda Cup. The softball nominees were chosen by a group of experts representing the National Fastpitch Coaches Association (NFCA).

The nomination continues a torrent of postseason honors for Romero. She was recently named All-America first team, her second All-America honor is as many seasons following a second team selection in 2013. The sophomore was also one of three finalists for the USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year award. She won the Big Ten Player of the Year for a second season in a row and was a unanimous All-Big Ten first team pick.

Romero followed up an impressive debut season with an even better sophomore campaign. The sophomore leads the nation in two offensive categories: on-base percentage (.633) and walks per-game (1.08). She will finish with the second-highest batting average in the country, and fourth in both slugging (.897) and runs per-game (1.19).

The sophomore set two new Michigan single season records: batting and runs scored (74). She also slugged 18 home runs and drove in 72 runs, putting her in Michigan's career top 10 after just two seasons (sixth with 41 homers, 10th with 143 RBI).

During Big Ten play, the shortstop led the conference in hitting (.516), slugging percentage (.968), on-base percentage (.663), runs scored (32) and walks (27). She finished tied for third with seven home runs and fourth in total bases (60). Romero reached base in all 23 Big Ten games, and put together a 10-game hitting streak in the final two weeks of league play.

Four Michigan softball standouts have been nominated for the Honda Sports Award in the past: Tracy Conrad (1999), Sara Griffin (1998), Jenny Allard (1989) and Alicia Seegert (1986).

Katie McGregor is Michigan's lone Honda Sports Award winner. She won in 1998-99 for cross country.

Honda Sports award winners will be presented with the honor during on-campus presentations throughout the year and all Honda Sports award winners become a finalist for the prestigious 2014 Honda Cup award presented in June. Last year's Honda Cup winner was Keilani Ricketts (Oklahoma) representing the sport of softball. Two other student-athletes from the sport of softball have gone on to win the prestigious Honda Cup, Natasha Watley (UCLA) in 2003 and Lisa Fernandez (UCLA) in 1993.

2014 Honda Sport Award for Softball
Cheridan Hawkins, P, Oregon
Maddie O'Brien, SS, Florida State
Sierra Romero, SS, Michigan
Madison Shipman, SS, Tennessee

Contact: Michael Kasiborski

» Learn about individual game and group tickets for Michigan softball.