Dick Kimball
Dick Kimball

Volunteer Diving Coach

Dick Kimball remains a fixture of the University of Michigan men's and women's swimming and diving teams, serving as a volunteer assistant diving coach after 43 years of service as the program's head diving coach from 1960-2002.

As head diving coach, Kimball was a part of five NCAA national championship teams and 33 Big Ten Conference championship teams with the U-M men and women. His recognition from those teams include being named the NCAA Diving Coach of the Year in 1984 for men and women while also earning the honor as the women's coach of the year for 1988. On the conference level, Kimball earned the Big Ten Diving Coach of the Year on four different occasions.

He has coached nine Olympic medalists, including gold medalists Bob Webster (1960 and '64, platform), Micki King ('72, three-meter), Phil Boggs ('76, three-meter) and Mark Lenzi ('92, three-meter). Kimball also coached three Big Ten women's Divers of the Year: Diane Dudeck (1984); NCAA platform, one- and three-meter champion Mary Fischbach (1988); and Carrie Zarse (1995).

Also in this mix are seven Big Ten women's diving champions to his credit and nine men who have combined for 11 titles. He added Brett Wilmot to the 10-meter platform champion list in 1999 and Alex Bogaerts in 1996. Zarse was the 1993 Big Ten one-meter champion, the first Wolverine since Fishbach. Fischbach's 11 dive one-meter score of 520.50 in 1988 remains the conference championship meet record.

Kimball became the head diving coach at Michigan in 1960, replacing his close friend Bruce Harlan, who was killed in a diving accident. The 2001-02 season marked his 43rd and final as the head diving coach of the men's program and 27th for the women's team, although he has coached women divers at U-M even before they officially became a program.