Dauw, Kukors Head Michigan's Six Qualifiers for NCAA Championships

March 2, 2011

NCAA Championships Psych Sheet | NCAA Championships Central

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. -- Six members of the University of Michigan women's swimming and diving team have qualified for the 2011 NCAA Championships, to be held March 17-19 in Austin, Texas. The official psych sheet was released Wednesday (March 2) by the NCAA.

Junior Caitlin Dauw (St. Charles, Ill./St. Charles East) and sophomore Mattie Kukors (Auburn, Wash./Mountainview) lead the group, having qualified for three events each. Senior Natasha Moodie (Miramar, Fla./Miramar), junior Alexa Mehesan (West Des Moines, Iowa/Valley), and freshman Angela Chokran (South Elgin, Ill./St. Charles North) will swim in two events each, and sophomore Deirdre Jones (Nashville, Tenn./University School of Nashville) will swim in one. In addition, the Wolverines have four relay teams entered in the meet, all featuring swimmers above. A complete list of U-M qualifiers with events, times and national ranks can be found below.

Individual Events

Swimmer Event Time Rank
Mattie Kukors 200-yard Individual Medley 1:58.48 27
  400-yard Individual Medley 4:07.59 13
  200-yard Backstroke 1:55.65 35
Natasha Moodie 50-yard Freestyle 22.26 13
  100-yard Freestyle 49.08 38
Alexa Mehesan 50-yard Freestyle 22.71 42
  100-yard Butterfly 53.70 45
Caitlin Dauw 50-yard Freestyle 22.81 54
  100-yard Butterfly 52.41 14
  200-yard Butterfly 1:57.95 34
Angela Chokran 100-yard Breaststroke 1:01.41 43
  200-yard Breaststroke 2:11.02 27
Deirdre Jones 200-yard Freestyle 1:49.16 75


Event Swimmers Time Rank
200-yard Freestyle Relay Natasha Moodie, Alexa Mehesan, Caitlin Dauw, Deirdre Jones 1:29.44 9
400-yard Freestyle Relay Natasha Moodie, Alexa Mehesan, Caitlin Dauw, Mattie Kukors 3:20.88 24
200-yard Medley Relay Mattie Kukors, Angela Chokran, Caitlin Dauw, Natasha Moodie 1:38.35 16
400-yard Medley Relay Mattie Kukors, Angela Chokran, Caitlin Dauw, Natasha Moodie 3:36.78 20

Divers Rachael Ropeik (Ann Arbor, Mich./Huron), Amanda Lohman (Pittsburgh, Pa./Upper St. Clair) and Erin Bridgewater (Kawkawlin, Mich./Bay City Western) will try to qualify for nationals at the NCAA Zone C diving meet, March 10-12 in Columbus, Ohio. Lohman qualified for the NCAA Championships last season.

The top 16 finishers in individual events and relays at the NCAA Championships score team points. The first eight places earn NCAA All-America status, while places 9-16 earn NCAA All-America Honorable Mention.

Michigan has scored a top-25 team finish in 23 of the last 25 years under head coach Jim Richardson, including 14 top-10 team finishes. The Wolverines finished in 15th place last season.


• Sophomore Adrienne Bicek narrowly missed out on qualifying for the 200-yard butterfly.

• Michigan will not swim its 800-yard freestyle relay team (Adrienne Bicek, Deirdre Jones, Mattie Kukors, Liz Johnson) at the NCAA Championships. Its qualifying time was 7:15.48, 23rd-best in the country.


Michigan Head Coach Jim Richardson
On the swimmers who qualified for the NCAA Championships ... "We got six people in this year. For a young and inexperienced team like we have, that's pretty good. Four of the six people we are taking have never been there before, so getting them the experience certainly bodes well for our future. The task now for them is to swim faster times at the meet than they did in trying to qualify, which I think they can."

On the disappointment of Adrienne Bicek not qualifying ... "We're certainly disappointed for her. She qualified for it last year at Georgia and is one of the best 200-yard butterfly swimmers in the collegiate ranks. We just missed it with her. She swam in so many different events for us this season, I don't think I gave her enough recovery time."

Contact: Brad Rudner (734) 763-4423