U-M Women's Swimming and Diving All-Time National Champions
Emily Brunemann

(Through 2017 NCAA Championships)

The University of Michigan has been a factor on the national scene in swimming and diving for nearly three decades. In 2016, U-M finished 10th at the NCAA Championships in Atlanta, its first top-10 finish since 2008. At the 1995 NCAA Championships, the Wolverines became the first team other than Stanford, Texas and Florida to finish in the top three. U-M finished second to Stanford after claiming the lead following the second day of competition. The team finished just 19 points out of first place, bringing home the silver trophy. The Maize and Blue has scored points at every NCAA Championship since 1983, a streak that is going strong at 34 seasons. 

Individual AIAW Champions (by event)
400-yard Individual Medley
1982 Sue Cahill
One-Meter Diving
1977 Chris Seufert
1978 Julie Bachman
Three-Meter Diving
1977 Chris Seufert
1978 Julie Bachman
Individual NCAA Champions (by event)
1,650-Yard Freestyle
2008 Emily Brunemann, 15:53.69
100-Yard Backstroke
1995 Alecia Humphrey, 54.10
200-Yard Backstroke
1995 Alecia Humphrey, 1:54.68
100-Yard Breaststroke
1993 Lara Hooiveld, 1:00.47
200-Yard Breaststroke
1989 Ann Colloton, 2:12.96
1993 Lara Hooiveld, 2:12.71
400-Yard Individual Medley
1993 Mindy Gehrs, 4:11.39
400-Yard Medley Relay
1995 Talor Bendel, Megan Gillam, Rachel Gustin, Alecia Humphrey, 3:38.40
One-Meter Diving
1988 Mary Fischbach, 486.80
Three-Meter Diving
1988 Mary Fischbach, 551.75