Maize & Blue Unveils 2013-14 Schedule

July 1, 2013

2013-14 U-M Women's Swimming & Diving Schedule

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- The University of Michigan women's swimming and diving team led by head coach Mike Bottom announced its 2013-14 season schedule today (July 1) highlighted by three home meets at the Canham Natatorium along with the new Michigan Open (Nov. 22-24) and the return of the second Michigan Water Carnival (Sept. 28).

The season kicks off on Friday, Sept. 27, with a home dual meet against Iowa at 5 p.m. The weekend continues with Michigan Water Carnival on Saturday (Sept. 28), an event that showcases the joy of swimming and diving with non-traditional competitions along with festive food and live entertainment.

Michigan will compete in three away events in the first half of the season including a dual meet at defending Big Ten champion Minnesota (Oct. 11-12), a tri-meet with Texas and Indiana at Indiana (Oct. 25-26) and a dual meet at Toledo (Nov. 1). The Wolverines will then host the Michigan Open (Nov. 22-24) along with the men's team.

The annual training trip will take place in early January with the swimmers competing at the Orange Bowl Classic (Jan. 2) and the divers competing at the Mike Pepe Invitational (Jan. 3). Then the second half of the season features two home meets against Eastern Michigan and Oakland (Jan. 17), and then concludes with Michigan State (Feb. 7) for Senior Appreciation Night. The team will head out on the road for meets against Purdue (Jan. 10), Northwestern and Notre Dame (Jan. 11), and Ohio State and Nebraska (Jan. 31).

The Big Ten Championships are Feb. 19-22 in Minneapolis, Minn., at the University Aquatic Center. The divers will compete in the NCAA Zone C Diving Championships March 13-15 in Iowa City, Iowa. Qualified swimmers and divers will then compete in the NCAA Championships, once again held at at the University Aquatic Center in Minneapolis, Minn.

Bottom enters his second season guiding a combined men's and women's program and will lead a seven-member senior class into competition. Three NCAA All-America honorable mention performers return in senior Angela Chokran (South Elgin, Ill./St. Charles North) and sophomores Ali DeLoof (Grosse Pointe, Mich./Grosse Pointe South) and Zoe Mattingly (Zionsville, Ind./Zionsville). Other returning top performers include senior Courtney Beidler (Richboro, Pa./Council Rock South), sophomore Marni Oldershaw (Oakville, Ontario/Oakville Trafalgar). This season's team will be captained by Chokran, Beidler, Erin Cameron (Rockwood, Mich./Oscar A. Carlson) and Erin Bridgewater (Kawkawlin, Mich./Bay City Western).

Contact: Michael Kasiborski (734) 763-4423