Former Wolverine Brunemann Named to USA National Team

Sept. 7, 2011

USA Swimming National Team Roster

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. -- Eight current and former members of the University of Michigan men's and women's swimming and diving teams were named to the USA Swimming 2011-12 National Team on Tuesday (Sept. 6). Swimmers include current Wolverines Dan Madwed (Stamford, Conn./Towson), Sean Ryan (Hixson, Tenn./McCallie School), and Ryan Feeley (Rye, N.Y./Rye), and former athletes Chris Brady (2007-10), Emily Brunemann (2006-07, 2009-10), Tyler Clary (2008-10), Charlie Houchin (2007-10), Matt Patton (2006-09), Davis Tarwater (2003-06), and Peter Vanderkaay (2003-06). Also on the team is former U-M men's volunteer assistant coach Michael Phelps, who coached at Michigan from 2004-08.

Swimmers were selected for the USA Swimming National Team based on their times in Olympic events from the combined results of the 2011 FINA World Championships, the 2011 ConocoPhillips National Championships, and the 2011 World University Games. Swimmers with the top six times in each event make the national team; however, relay leadoffs and time trials are not included. Open water swimmers were selected from the top six finishers at the 2011 USA Swimming 10K Open Water National Championship and World Championship Trials.

Phelps leads all U-M representatives with four events (100m butterfly, 200m butterfly, 200m freestyle, and 200-meter IM). Brunemann, Feeley and Ryan each qualified in the Open Water 10k, with Ryan also swimming in the 1,500-meter freestyle. Vanderkaay (200m freestyle, 400m freestyles, 1,500m freestyle) and Clary (200m butterfly, 400m individual medley, 200m backstroke) will swim in three events each. Houchin and Patton will each swim the 400m freestyle, while the remaining three will compete in the butterfly: Brady (100m), Madwed (200m) and Tarwater (100m, 200m).

Current and Former U-M Swimmers on 2011-12 USA Swimming National Team
* All events in long-course meters

Chris Brady 2007-10 100m Butterfly
Emily Brunemann 2006-07, 2009-10 Open Water 10k
Tyler Clary 2008-10 200m Butterfly, 200m Backstroke, 400m IM
Ryan Feeley 2009-Present Open Water 10k
Charlie Houchin 2007-10 400m Freestyle
Dan Madwed 2008-Present 200m Butterfly
Matt Patton 2006-09 400m Freestyle
Sean Ryan 2010-Present Open Water 10k, 1,500m Freestyle
Davis Tarwater 2003-06 100m Butterfly, 200m Butterfly
Peter Vanderkaay 2003-06 200m Freestyle, 400m Freestyle, 1,500m Freestyle

USA Swimming Announces 2011-12 National Team (

Contact: David Ablauf, Brad Rudner (734) 763-4423