Big Ten Honors Wolverine Quintet with Conference Honors

April 25, 2013

PARK RIDGE, Ill. -- After securing its fourth straight Big Ten championship, the University of Michigan women's tennis team put four members on All-Big Ten teams, as announced by the Big Ten Conference on Thursday night (April 25). In addition, freshman Ronit Yurovsky (New Kensington, Pa./Plum) was named Freshman of the Year and head coach Ronni Bernstein earned her fourth straight Coach of the Year honor.

Yurovsky was joined on the All-Big Ten first team by sophomore Emina Bektas (Indianapolis, Ind./New Braunfels) and junior Brooke Bolender (Delray Beach, Fla./Kaplan), with sophomore Sarah Lee (Los Angeles, Calif./Campbell Hall) earning a spot on the second team and being honored as Michigan's Sportsmanship winner.

Yurovsky is the fourth consecutive Michigan freshman to earn Big Ten Freshman of the Year, joining Bolender, Bektas and senior Mimi Nguyen (Long Beach, Calif./Millikan) as winners on the current team. Yurovsky went 9-2 in Big Ten matches, playing 10 times at the No. 2 spot and once at No. 1. She boasts a team-best 28-7 overall singles record and is currently ranked No. 48 in the ITA singles rankings.

Bektas picks up her second straight first-team honor after going 10-1 in Big Ten matches, playing all but one match at the top of the lineup. Bektas, ranked No. 25 in singles by the ITA, is 23-8 overall and 18-4 in dual matches. She has teamed with Bolender to play at the top of the doubles lineup, going 8-3 in Big Ten matches and 15-4 in dual matches.

Honored by the Big Ten for the third straight year, Bolender played at the No. 3 and No. 4 positions during conference action for a 10-1 mark. The junior captain most recently clinched Michigan's Big Ten championship with a win at No. 4 against Ohio State (April 21), marking the second straight season that she has clinched Michigan's title. She is 23-13 overall and 17-6 in dual matches on the season.

Lee rounds out Michigan's honorees, nabbing second-team laurels for the second consecutive year after going 8-3 in Big Ten matches. The Michigan sophomore has played at the No. 3 and No. 4 positions all during dual-match play, going 16-7 in the middle of the lineup. She has paired with Yurovsky and Nguyen on the doubles court during dual matches, going 13-5 in doubles.

Bernstein was named Coach of the Year for the fourth straight year after once again guiding Michigan to the conference championship with a 10-1 Big Ten record during the regular season. During her six years as Michigan's head coach, Bernstein is 58-4 with four conference championships.

Michigan, ranked sixth nationally and the No. 1 seed in the Big Ten Tournament, opens up play in the tournament tomorrow (Friday, April 26) against Iowa at 10 a.m. in Bloomington, Ind.

Emina BektasBrooke BolenderSarah LeeRonit YurovskyRonni Bernstein


First Team
Allison Falkin, Illinois
Katie Klyczek, Indiana
Ruth Seaborne, Iowa
Brooke Bolender, Michigan
Patricia Veresova, Nebraska
Belinda Niu, Northwestern
Kate Turvy, Northwestern

Second Team
Melissa Kopinski, Illinois
Sarah Lee, Michigan
Natallia Pintusava, Minnesota
Stefanie Weinstein, Nebraska
Veronica Corning, Northwestern
Mara Schmidt, Purdue

Unanimous selections in CAPS

Athlete of the Year: Mary Weatherholt, Nebraska
Freshman of the Year: Ronit Yurovsky, Michigan
Coach of the Year: Ronni Bernstein, Michigan

Audrey O'Connor, Illinois
Leslie Hureau, Indiana
Morven McCulloch, Iowa
Sarah Lee, Michigan
Nicole Herzog, Michigan State
Tereza Brichacova, Minnesota
Mary Weatherholt, Nebraska
Veronica Corning, Northwestern
Kelsey Dieters, Ohio State
Jacqueline Zuhse, Penn State

Contact: Sarah VanMetre (734) 763-4423