Addison, Smith Recognized as Capital One Academic All-Americans
Rebecca Addison (L) and Jillian Smith

June 27, 2013

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- Rebecca Addison (Spring Lake, Mich./Grand Haven), who recently concluded a standout career for the University of Michigan women's track and field and cross country teams, was selected to the Capital One Academic All-America first team today (Thursday, June 27) as announced by the College Sports Information Directors of America. In addition, senior/junior Jillian Smith (Manahawkin, N.J./Southern Regional) earned a spot on the All-America second team.

After earning Capital One Academic All-District V first team honors on May 30, Addison and Smith moved onto the Capital One Academic All-America Team ballot, where first-, second- and third-team All-America honorees were awarded.

Addison becomes the first Wolverine to collect All-America first team accolades since Katie Erdman in 2007. She earned All-America third team recognition as a junior in 2012, while Smith appeared on the 2012 Academic All-District V second team.

Addison and Smith were each members of Michigan's national champion distance medley relay team, which set a school record of 10:56.46, en route to earning All-America first team honors. The pair also helped the Wolverines capture their 10th straight Big Ten DMR title to receive All-Big Ten first team honors for the fourth straight year.

In addition to running the DMR, Smith and Addison also finished third and fifth, respectively, in the 800-meter run at the Big Ten Indoor Championships. During the outdoor conference meet, they reversed places, as Addison took third in the 1,500-meter run and Smith placed fifth. Most recently, Addison, a two-time team captain, won the 1,500-meter run at the NCAA East Preliminaries to advance to the NCAA Outdoor Championships for the first time in her career. She capped her career with a 23rd-place finish in the 1,500-meter run at the national meet.

Addison (7) and Smith (6) have combined for a total of 13 Big Ten titles, both as individuals and as members of the DMR, during their track and field careers.

During the 2012 cross country season, the duo led Michigan to its first Big Ten title since 2006 and its second consecutive NCAA Great Lakes Region crown. Addison and Smith finished their cross country careers by helping the Wolverines finish fifth at the NCAA Championships. Addison earned 2012 All-Big Ten first team honors, while Smith landed a spot on the second team, and they each received All-Great Lakes Region recognition for the fourth straight year.

Addison is a movement science major in the School of Kinesiology, while Smith is majoring in environment in the College of Literature, Sciences and the Arts. They are each three-time Academic All-Big Ten recipients and have been U-M Athletic Academic Achievement award winners the last four years.

To be eligible for the honor, a student-athlete must be a starter or important reserve with at least a 3.30 cumulative grade-point average (on a 4.0 scale) at his/her current institution. A student-athlete must also have participated in at least 50 percent of the team's games and have completed one full calendar year at his/her current institution and reached sophomore athletic eligibility.

Smith has one season of outdoor track and field eligibility remaining and will return to lead the Wolverines during the 2014 outdoor campaign.

Academic All-America First Team
Rebecca Addison (3), Michigan
Christine Babcock, Washington
Jacy Bennett (3), Oklahoma
Heather Bergmann (2), Kansas
Juliet Bottorff, Duke
Bethany Buell, South Dakota
Brigid Byrne (3), U.S. Naval Academy
Sarah Callister (3), Weber State
Laura Carleton, Louisiana State
Abbey D'Agostino, Dartmouth
Alexa Duling, South Dakota
Jordan Hasay (1) # AAA, Oregon
Rhiannon Johns (2) &, UAB
Anne Kesselring (1) &, Oregon
Nicole Look, Colorado

Academic All-America second Team
Sarah-Anne Brault, West Virginia
Mackenzie Fields, Cincinnati
Mara Griva, Nebraska
Sofia Hellberg-Jonsen, Mississippi
Kathy Kroeger, Stanford
Dakota McCoy, Yale
Meaghan Nelson, Iowa State
Chelsea Oswald, Kentucky
Alexis Paine, Alabama
Mareike Schrulle, Iowa
Jillian Smith, Michigan
Caroline Tolli, Bucknell
Rebecca Tracy, Notre Dame
Morgan Wilken, Nebraska
Keri Wood, Arkansas

Academic All-America third Team
Juli Accurso, Ohio University
Leslie Brost, North Dakota State
Katie Clark, Butler
Corey Conner, Maine
Rebecca Esselstein, U.S. Air Force Acad.
Sarah Geren, Arizona State
Marissa Golliday, Illinois
Kirsten Haas, North Dakota
Amber Henry, Weber State
Lucie Ondraschkova, Georgia
Brittany Page, North Dakota State
Brittany Smith, Illinois State
Caitlin Way, Oklahoma State
Amanda Winslow, Florida State
Hayli Worthington, Idaho State

AAA 2011 Capital One Academic All-America® of the Year
(1) 2012 Capital One Academic All-America® 1st Team
(2) 2012 Capital One Academic All-America® 2nd Team
(3) 2012 Capital One Academic All-America® 3rd Team
(#) 2011 Capital One Academic All-America® 1st Team
(&) 2011 Capital One Academic All-America® 2nd Team
($) 2011 Capital One Academic All-America® 3rd Team

Contact: Whitney Dixon (734) 763-4423