Conference Matchups Announced for U-M's 2014 Season

March 24, 2014

ROSEMONT, Ill. -- The Big Ten Conference announced this afternoon (Monday, March 24) the University of Michigan volleyball team's opponents for the 2014 season. The 20-game conference slate includes home-and-home matchups with seven Big Ten opponents.

Michigan will face Michigan State, Indiana, Nebraska, Penn State, Ohio State, Illinois and Wisconsin twice in the fall. Five of those seven teams were NCAA Tournament teams in 2013 with Penn State and Wisconsin meeting in the NCAA Tournament championship match.

The Wolverines will have six one-play matchups inside the Big Ten schedule. U-M will face Iowa, Northwestern and Minnesota at home. The three road trips include first-time conference opponents Maryland and Rutgers, as well as Purdue.

The Big Ten sent eight teams to the NCAA Tournament last season, including the Maize and Blue. Seven of those teams made it to the regional semifinals with Penn State winning the national championship.

The full 2014 Michigan volleyball schedule will be released at a later date.

Michigan Volleyball 2014 Big Ten Opponents
Home/Away: Michigan State, Indiana, Nebraska, Penn State, Ohio State, Illinois, Wisconsin
Home: Iowa, Northwestern, Minnesota
Away: Maryland, Rutgers, Purdue

Contact: Kent Reichert

»  Learn about Michigan volleyball ticket opportunities for the 2017 season.